Calgary - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 3
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
3 dates, 26–28 Jan 2027
Calgary, 8 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Optional focused R5 subspecialty year, formally recognized as a 'Year of Specialized Training' on the diploma.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Two in-house exams per year that mirror the Royal College exam format on the same digital platform.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- The University of Calgary Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology program is a five-year residency based at Foothills Medical Centre.
- Residents rotate at 7 training sites across Calgary, and the program accepts 3 residents per year.
- Scholarly activity is expected of all residents, and the R5 year may be used for focused subspecialty training.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
By year
- PGY-1
- TTD Orientation2 blocks
- Clinical Selective2 blocks
- FoD Orientation2 blocks
- Gastroenterology1 block
- Medical Oncology1 block
- Gynecologic Oncology1 block
- PGY-5
- DMP elective rotations in a junior staff role13 blocks
Other rotations
- pediatric pathology (Core (PGY1-4) · 2 blocks · ACH)
- forensic pathology (Core (PGY1-4) · 2 blocks · OCME)
- neuropathology (Core (PGY1-4) · 2 blocks · FMC)
- cytopathology (Core (PGY1-4) · 3 blocks · DSC)
- lymph node pathology (Core (PGY1-4) · 1 block · FMC)
- (Adult) Autopsy (Core (PGY1-4) · 3 blocks · FMC)
- molecular genetic pathology (molecular, cytogenetics, genetic & genomics) (Core (PGY1-4) · 2 blocks)
- genitorurinary pathology (Core (PGY1-4) · 2 blocks · RGH)
- dermatopathology (Core (PGY1-4) · 2 blocks · DSC)
- breast (Core (PGY1-4) · 2 blocks)
- gyne (Core (PGY1-4) · 2 blocks)
- GI (Core (PGY1-4) · 2 blocks)
- H&N (Core (PGY1-4) · 1 block)
- BST (Core (PGY1-4) · 1 block)
- endocrine (Core (PGY1-4) · 1 block)
- thoracic (Core (PGY1-4) · 1 block)
- renal (Core (PGY1-4) · 1 block)
- surgical pathology (Core (PGY1-4) · 2 blocks · PLC)
- surgical pathology (Core (PGY1-4) · 2 blocks · SHC)
- study/review (Core (PGY1-4) · 1 block)
- research (Core (PGY1-4) · 3 blocks)
- other elective rotations (Core (PGY1-4) · 5 blocks)
Where you train
Calgary, Alberta: 8 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC)
- Alberta Children's Hospital (ACH)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (PLC)
- Rockyview General Hospital (RGH)
- South Health Campus (SHC)
- Diagnostic and Scientific Centre (DSC)
- Arthur J. E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre
- Office of the Chief Medical Examiner (OCME)
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 5 of 8; no published record for 3.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
About Calgary
People
1,306,784residents, 2021 Census
Housing
4.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 26, 27 and 28 Jan 2027
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
3 Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 3 dates, 26–28 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Calgary's Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology residency program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience in a supportive, academically challenging environment.
- Residents rotate through multiple sites, work with over 100 enthusiastic faculty, and benefit from a flexible curriculum that allows early career exploration and research opportunities.
- Research
- Residents are expected to complete scholarly activities, with 1-3 blocks of research time, funding support, and opportunities to present at conferences.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across 7 sites in Calgary, including Foothills Medical Centre, Alberta Children's Hospital, Diagnostic and Scientific Centre, and others, providing diverse clinical experiences in urban academic medical centers.
- Teaching approach
- Emphasizes progressive independence, competency-based learning, frequent formative assessments, and a supportive environment that encourages resident growth, research, and professional development.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference letters
- Interview performance
- EPA observations
- In-house examinations
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Konstantin KoroProgram Director - Diagnostic & Molecular Pathology
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Administrator - Diagnostic & Molecular Pathology
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology elsewhere
Nearest to Calgary
Did this page answer your question?