Skip to content
CdnMD

Edmonton - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology

University of AlbertaEdmonton, Alberta

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027virtual

Edmonton, 6 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Dedicated Examination Committee gives residents two full Royal College-style exams per year.

    From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page

  • Molecular pathology lab offers residents exposure to tests that are only available in Alberta.

    From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology residency at the University of Alberta.
  • Residents rotate across tertiary academic hospitals, community hospitals and laboratory sites in Edmonton, with forensic pathology at the Medical Examiner's Office.
  • Residents must complete a research project presented at the departmental research day, and they take home call one week at a time about every ten weeks.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · research project

By year

PGY-1
  • Anatomical Pathology (AP) Junior2 blocks - blocks 11-13
  • Orientation to Histology, Anatomy, and Basic Pathology2 blocks - block 1&2
  • Emergency Medicine1 block
  • Internal Medicine1 block
  • Gynecologic Oncology1 block
  • Medical Oncology1 block
  • Surgery1 block
  • (re-) Orientation Pathology1 block - block 10; paired with PGY2
PGY-2
  • AP Junior UAHUAH3 blocks
  • AP Junior BLBL2 blocks
  • AP Junior RAHRAH1-2 block
  • AP Junior GNHGNH1-2 blocks
  • AP Junior MCHMCH1-2 blocks
  • Junior autopsy UAH/RAHUAH/RAH1 block
  • Elective1 block
  • MEO/Junior AutopsyMEO, UAH/RAH1 block - 2 weeks at MEO, 2 weeks at UAH/RAH
PGY-3
  • Cytology Junior BL / UAHBL / UAH2 blocks
  • AP Senior RAHRAH2 blocks
  • Neuropathology2 blocks
  • Electives2 blocks
  • Dermatopathology UAHUAH1 block
  • Molecular pathology1 block
  • Breast pathology MCHMCH1 block
  • AP Senior MCHMCH1 block
  • Pediatric pathology1 block
PGY-4
  • AP Senior UAHUAH2 blocks
  • AP Senior RAHRAH2 blocks
  • Forensic Pathology2 blocks
  • Senior Autopsy UAH/RAHUAH/RAH1 block
  • AP Senior GNHGNH1 block
  • AP Senior BLBL1 block
  • Cytology Senior UAH / BLUAH / BL1 block
  • Lymph Node Pathology1 block
  • Molecular pathology #21 block
  • Study Leave #11 block
  • Electives1 block
PGY-5
  • Electives8 blocks
  • AP Senior UAHUAH2 blocks
  • AP Senior RAHRAH1 block
  • AP Senior BLBL1 block
  • Study Leave #21 block

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Orientation to Histology, Anatomy, and Basic Pathology (Transition to Discipline (TD, 2 blocks) · 2 blocks)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (FD, 8 blocks) · 1 block)
  • Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (FD, 8 blocks) · 1 block)
  • Gynecologic Oncology (Foundations of Discipline (FD, 8 blocks) · 1 block)
  • Medical Oncology (Foundations of Discipline (FD, 8 blocks) · 1 block)
  • Surgery (Foundations of Discipline (FD, 8 blocks) · 1 block)
  • Re-Orientation to Pathology (Foundations of Discipline (FD, 8 blocks) · 1 block)
  • AP Junior (Foundations of Discipline (FD, 8 blocks) · 1 block)
  • MEO/UAH Junior Autopsy (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block · MEO/UAH)
  • Junior Autopsy UAH/ RAH (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block · UAH/ RAH)
  • Senior Autopsy UAH/RAH (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block · UAH/RAH)
  • AP Junior UAH (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 3 blocks · UAH)
  • AP Junior RAH (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1-2 block · RAH)
  • AP Junior GNH (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1-2 blocks · GNH)
  • AP Junior MCH (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1-2 blocks · MCH)
  • AP Junior BL (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 2 blocks · BL)
  • AP Senior UAH (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 2 blocks · UAH)
  • AP Senior RAH (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 2 blocks PGY3; 2 blocks PGY4; 4 blocks total · RAH)
  • AP Senior GNH (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block · GNH)
  • AP Senior MCH (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block · MCH)
  • AP Senior BL (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block · BL)
  • Cytology Junior UAH/ BL (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 2 blocks · UAH/ BL)
  • Cytology Senior UAH/ BL (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block · UAH/ BL)
  • Dermpath UAH (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block · UAH)
  • Breast MCH (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block · MCH)
  • Pediatric pathology (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block)
  • Lymph Node Pathology (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block)
  • Molecular pathology #1 (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block)
  • Molecular pathology #2 (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block)
  • Neuropathology (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 2 blocks)
  • Forensic Pathology (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 2 blocks)
  • Electives (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 5 blocks)
  • Study Leave #1 (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block)
  • Study Leave #2 (Core of Discipline (CD, 43 blocks) · 1 block)
  • AP Senior UAH (Transition to Practice (TP, 12 blocks) · 2 blocks · UAH)
  • AP Senior RAH (Transition to Practice (TP, 12 blocks) · 1 block · RAH)
  • AP Senior BL (Transition to Practice (TP, 12 blocks) · 1 block · BL)
  • Electives (Transition to Practice (TP, 12 blocks) · 8 blocks)
PGY-1
  • Orientation to Histology, Anatomy, and Basic Pathology2 blocks
  • Anatomical Pathology (AP) Junior UAHUAH2 blocks
  • Emergency Medicine1 block
  • Internal Medicine1 block
  • Gynecologic Oncology1 block
  • Pediatrics1 block
  • Medical Oncology1 block
  • Surgery1 block
  • (re-) Orientation Pathology1 block
PGY-2
  • AP Junior UAHUAH4 blocks
  • AP Junior BLBL2 blocks
  • AP Junior GNHGNH1-2 blocks
  • AP Junior MCHMCH1-2 blocks
  • MEO/Junior AutopsyMEO, UAH/RAH1 block
  • Junior autopsy UAH/RAHUAH/RAH1 block
  • AP Junior RAHRAH1 block
  • Elective1 block
PGY-3
  • Cytology Junior BL / UAHBL / UAH2 blocks
  • AP Senior RAHRAH2 blocks
  • Neuropathology2 blocks
  • Electives2 blocks
  • Dermatopathology UAHUAH1 block
  • Molecular pathology1 block
  • Breast pathology MCHMCH1 block
  • AP Senior MCHMCH1 block
  • Pediatric pathology1 block
PGY-4
  • AP Senior UAHUAH2 blocks
  • AP Senior RAHRAH2 blocks
  • Forensic Pathology2 blocks
  • Senior Autopsy UAH/RAHUAH/RAH1 block
  • AP Senior GNHGNH1 block
  • AP Senior BLBL1 block
  • Cytology Senior UAH / BLUAH / BL1 block
  • Lymph Node Pathology1 block
  • Molecular pathology #21 block
  • Study Leave #11 block
  • Electives1 block
PGY-5
  • AP Senior UAHUAH2 blocks
  • AP Senior RAHRAH1 block
  • AP Senior BLBL1 block
  • Study Leave #21 block

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Orientation to Histology, Anatomy, and Basic Pathology (Transition to Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Gynecologic Oncology (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Medical Oncology (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Re-Orientation to Pathology (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • AP Junior UAH (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block · UAH)
  • MEO/UAH Junior Autopsy (Core of Discipline · 1 block · MEO/UAH)
  • Junior Autopsy UAH/ RAH (Core of Discipline · 1 block · UAH/ RAH)
  • Senior Autopsy UAH/RAH (Core of Discipline · 1 block · UAH/RAH)
  • AP Junior UAH (Core of Discipline · 4 blocks · UAH)
  • AP Junior RAH (Core of Discipline · 1 block · RAH)
  • AP Junior GNH (Core of Discipline · 1-2 blocks · GNH)
  • AP Junior MCH (Core of Discipline · 1-2 blocks · MCH)
  • AP Junior BL (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks · BL)
  • AP Senior UAH (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks · UAH)
  • AP Senior RAH (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks PGY3; 2 blocks PGY4; 4 blocks total · RAH)
  • AP Senior GNH (Core of Discipline · 1 block · GNH)
  • AP Senior MCH (Core of Discipline · 1 block · MCH)
  • AP Senior BL (Core of Discipline · 1 block · BL)
  • Cytology Junior UAH/ BL (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks · UAH/ BL)
  • Cytology Senior UAH/ BL (Core of Discipline · 1 block · UAH/ BL)
  • Dermpath UAH (Core of Discipline · 1 block · UAH)
  • Breast MCH (Core of Discipline · 1 block · MCH)
  • Pediatric pathology (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Lymph Node Pathology (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Molecular pathology #1 (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Molecular pathology #2 (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Neuropathology (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Forensic Pathology (Core of Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Electives (Core of Discipline · 4 blocks)
  • Study Leave #1 (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
  • Study Leave #2 (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
  • AP Senior UAH (Transition to Practice · 2 blocks · UAH)
  • AP Senior RAH (Transition to Practice · 1 block · RAH)
  • AP Senior BL (Transition to Practice · 1 block · BL)
  • Electives (Transition to Practice · 8 blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Edmonton, Alberta: 6 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • University of Alberta Hospital (UAH)
  • Royal Alexandra Hospital (RAH)
  • Grey Nuns Community Hospital (GNH)
  • Misericordia Community Hospital (MCH)
  • Alberta Precision Laboratories Edmonton Base Lab (BL)
  • Office of the Chief Medical Examiner (MEO)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 6; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At University of Alberta Hospital (UAH), Royal Alexandra Hospital (RAH), Grey Nuns Community Hospital (GNH), Misericordia Community Hospital (MCH).

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Edmonton

  • People

    1,010,899residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Edmonton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Edmonton, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Edmonton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents
Return of service
Not required · all residents
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
21 and 22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

3 Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
Home call · frequency “approximately every ten weeks”
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Edmonton.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
20192 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)2 positions open after round 2 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
202000
20211 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20221 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202300
20242 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027Virtual
  • New for 2027

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years2 dates, 22–23 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Alberta offers a comprehensive 5-year Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology residency program that provides extensive training across multiple hospital sites.
  • The program aims to produce top-quality diagnostic pathologists through exposure to a large volume of cases, teaching opportunities, and research experiences in a collaborative environment.
Research
Residents are required to complete a research project and are encouraged to participate in departmental research with opportunities in areas like renal, transplantation, pulmonary, GI, gynecologic, breast, and head and neck research.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Edmonton, including University of Alberta Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Grey Nuns Community Hospital, Misericordia Community Hospital, and Alberta Precision Laboratories Base Lab.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, focusing on developing medical experts who can integrate diagnostic techniques, collaborate effectively, and contribute to patient care through research and teaching.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical school transcript
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • CV/Résumé
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Erin Chapman

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officekatomlin@ualberta.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology elsewhere

Nearest to Edmonton

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36142 (CMG stream), 35815 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream