Kootenay Boundary - Family Medicine
University of British ColumbiaKootenay Boundary, British Columbia
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 41
- Length
- 2
- Applications per year
- 601+201–400
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%51–75%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Interviews
8 dates, 16–26 Jan 2027
Kootenay Boundary, 8 teaching sites · 8 rural weeks
What stands out about this program
A 4-wheel/AWD vehicle and experience with mountain winter driving are essential for travel between sites.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Evening ER shifts (6–11 pm) in the resident's home community, 1 in 4 while in the region.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
18 weeks of elective time.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This two-year family medicine site in the Kootenay Boundary region trains residents for rural practice, mainly in Trail and Nelson.
- It takes 5 residents per year, with 3 based in Trail and 2 in Nelson.
- Residents complete an 8-week remote rural rotation in Grand Forks or Nakusp, and a 4-wheel/AWD vehicle is essential.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Regional community
- Rural / remote
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Care of the Elderly
- Anesthesia
- Palliative Care
- Sport and Exercise Medicine
- Clinician Scholar / Research
- Other
- Getting around
- A car is required
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Family Practice (home) clinic (20 weeks)
- ER (Castlegar) (2 weeks · Castlegar)
- ER (Nelson - KLH) (Trail (KBRH) Resident · 2 weeks · Nelson - KLH)
- ER (Nelson - KLH) (Nelson (KLH) Resident · 4 weeks · Nelson - KLH)
- ER (Trail - KBRH) (Trail (KBRH) Resident · 4 weeks · Trail - KBRH)
- ER (Trail - KBRH) (Nelson (KLH) Resident · 2 weeks · Trail - KBRH)
- IM (KBRH) (2 weeks · KBRH)
- Hospitalist (KBRH) (4 weeks · KBRH)
- IM (KBRH) (4 weeks (2 wks focus on inpt IM) · KBRH)
- ICU (KBRH) (4 weeks · KBRH)
- Surgery (2 weeks Ortho,+2 weeks Anes - KBRH; 2 week surgery selective (may be local or OOR) (6 weeks · KBRH)
- Gyne (KBRH) (Trail (KBRH) Resident · 2 weeks · KBRH)
- Family Practice OB (Aspen – KBRH) (4 weeks · Aspen – KBRH)
- Gyne (KLH) (Nelson (KLH) Resident · 2 weeks · KLH)
- Obstetrics (High Volume) BCWH (2 weeks · BCWH)
- Peds NICU (RIH - Kamloops) (2 weeks · RIH - Kamloops)
- Peds ER (BCCH) (2 weeks · BCCH)
- Pediatrics (Trail/Nelson) (*4 weeks · Trail/Nelson)
- Pain Management/Addictions (Nelson) (2 weeks · Nelson)
- Mental Health (KBRH) (4 weeks · KBRH)
- FP Oncology (Nelson/Trail) (2 weeks · Nelson/Trail)
- Rural Remote (Grand Forks) (8 weeks · Grand Forks)
- Rural Remote (Nakusp) (8 weeks · Nakusp)
- First Nations (1 week, 1 month, or 2 months)
- Procedures Course (yearly for R2s) (1 week)
- Academic Week (2 per year) (KB) (4 weeks · KB)
- Exam Prep - R2 (1 week)
- Elective (4 wks can be out of province) (18 weeks)
- PGY-2
- Procedures Course1 week
- Exam Prep - R21 week
Other rotations
- Family Practice (home) clinic (20 weeks)
- ER (Castlegar) (2 weeks · Castlegar)
- ER (Nelson - KLH) (Trail (KBRH) Resident · 2 weeks · KLH)
- ER (Nelson - KLH) (Nelson (KLH) Resident · 4 weeks · KLH)
- ER (Trail - KBRH) (Trail (KBRH) Resident · 4 weeks · KBRH)
- ER (Trail - KBRH) (Nelson (KLH) Resident · 2 weeks · KBRH)
- IM (KBRH) (2 weeks · KBRH)
- Hospitalist (KBRH) (4 weeks · KBRH)
- IM (KLH) (4 weeks (2 wks focus on inpt IM) · KLH)
- ICU (KBRH) (4 weeks · KBRH)
- Surgery (2 weeks Ortho,+2 weeks Anes - KBRH; 2 week surgery selective (may be local or OOR) (6 weeks · KBRH)
- Gyne (KBRH) (Trail (KBRH) Resident · 2 weeks · KBRH)
- Family Practice OB (Aspen – KBRH) (4 weeks · Aspen – KBRH)
- Gyne (KLH) (Nelson (KLH) Resident · 2 weeks · KLH)
- Obstetrics (High Volume) BCWH (2 weeks · BCWH)
- Peds NICU (RIH - Kamloops) (2 weeks · RIH - Kamloops)
- Peds ER (BCCH) (2 weeks · BCCH)
- Pediatrics (Trail/Nelson) (*4 weeks · Trail/Nelson)
- Pain Management/Addictions (Nelson) (2 weeks · Nelson)
- Mental Health (KBRH) (4 weeks · KBRH)
- FP Oncology (Nelson/Trail) (2 weeks · Nelson/Trail)
- Rural Remote (Grand Forks) (8 weeks · Grand Forks)
- Rural Remote (Nakusp) (8 weeks · Nakusp)
- First Nations (1 week, 1 month, or 2 months)
- Academic Week (2 per year) (KB) (4 weeks · KB)
- Elective (4 wks can be out of province) (18 weeks)
Where you train
Kootenay Boundary, British Columbia: 8 teaching sites; 8 rural weeks. A car is required.
- Kootenay Boundary Regional Hospital (Trail)
- Kootenay Lake General Hospital (Nelson)
- Boundary & District Hospital (Grand Forks · rural or distributed site)
- Arrows Lake Hospital (Nakusp · rural or distributed site)
- Castlegar Community Health Center (Castlegar)
- BCWH
- RIH (Kamloops)
- BCCH
Distributed across a region
- Kootenay Boundary Regional Hospital (Trail)
- Kootenay Lake General Hospital (Nelson)
- Castlegar Community Health Center (Castlegar)
- Boundary & District Hospital (Grand Forks · rural or distributed site)
- Arrows Lake Hospital (Nakusp · rural or distributed site)
- BCWH
- BCCH
- RIH - Kamloops (Kamloops)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: MEDITECH at 3 of 9, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2; no published record for 4.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Feb 2022
Kootenay Boundary Regional Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 2,497
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 640
Kootenay Lake General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 2,499
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 594
BCWH
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 5,033
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,348
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
RIH
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,812
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,914
BCCH
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 16, 18, 19, 21, 22, 23, 25 and 26 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
The 2 sessions listed for 2027 have passed.
59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- In-house call · frequency “1 in 4”
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Relieved within 2 hours of the call ending, or by 10:00 if earlier, when a resident on a 24-hour or longer shift could not get 6 uninterrupted hours of rest
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
After residency
Family doctors in British Columbia can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for hours worked, visits and enrolled patients: the Longitudinal Family Physician (LFP) Payment Model. The New-to-Practice (NTP) contract is primarily focused on new graduates, for up to two years; the LFP Payment Model is also available to new physicians building a panel. To join: at least 250 empanelled patients within four months of enrolling. Compare provinces
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 4 | 2 years | 8 dates, 16–26 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| IMG stream | 1 | 2 years | 8 dates, 16–26 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 4 | 2 years | 17 Jan – 8 Feb 2026, listed as a range |
| IMG stream | 1 | 2 years | 17 Jan – 8 Feb 2026, listed as a range |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Kootenay Boundary Family Medicine Residency Program is an ideal training opportunity for highly motivated, independent residents comfortable with rural and isolated medical practice.
- Located in southeastern British Columbia, the program offers comprehensive family medicine training across multiple communities with a focus on rural healthcare delivery.
- Research
- Residents complete a quality improvement project in the first year and a scholar project to be presented at Scholarship Day.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple rural communities in the Kootenay Boundary region, including Trail, Nelson, Grand Forks, and Nakusp, with training sites ranging from regional hospitals to small community health centers.
- Teaching approach
- Community-based, experiential learning with an emphasis on self-directed education, progressive independence, and preparing residents for comprehensive rural family practice.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- File review (20%)
- MMI interview (75%)
- FMProC score (5%)
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Sarah McCorquodale
Dr. Flora Wong
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
- Program office
Program and Learning Development Manager, Education Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Family Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Kootenay Boundary
- Regional
- Regional
Did this page answer your question?