Edmonton - Emergency Medicine
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 7
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
2 dates, 25–26 Jan 2027
Edmonton, 9 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Structured Transition to Practice curriculum of about 15 non-clinical sessions after the Royal College exam.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
PGY4 residents have practice oral exams every second week starting 8 months before the exam.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 5-year Royal College emergency medicine residency trained at Edmonton hospitals, including the tertiary University of Alberta and Royal Alexandra Hospitals.
- Each resident is expected to complete a scholarly project, and there are no mandatory rural rotations.
- During emergency department rotations, residents work about 14-16 eight-hour shifts per 28-day block.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline)
- Emergency Medicine (Foundations)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Foundations)
- Internal Medicine (Foundations)
- Coronary Care Unit (Foundations)
- Obstetrics & Gynecology (Foundations)
- General Surgery (Foundations)
- Anesthesiology (Foundations)
- Emergency Medicine (Core)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Core)
- Critical Care Medicine (Core)
- Pediatric Critical Care (Core)
- Point of Care Ultrasound (Core)
- Plastic Surgery (Core)
- Anesthesiology (Core)
- Pediatric Anesthesiology (Core)
- Psychiatry (Core)
- Internal Medicine (Core)
- Obstetrics & Gynecology (Core)
- General Surgery (Core)
- Sports Medicine (Core)
- Neurosurgery (Core)
- Neurology (Core)
- Research (Core)
- Administration (Core)
- Emergency Medical Services (Core)
- Elective (Core)
- Emergency Medicine (Transition to Practice)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Transition to Practice)
- Area of Concentrated Expertise (Transition to Practice)
Where you train
Edmonton, Alberta: 9 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- University of Alberta Hospital
- Royal Alexandra Hospital
- Grey Nuns Community Hospital
- Misericordia Community Hospital
- Strathcona Community Hospital
- Sturgeon Community Hospital
- Northeast Community Health Centre
- Westview Health Centre
- Stollery Children's Hospital
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 9 of 9.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
About Edmonton
People
1,010,899residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.8%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not required · all residents
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 25 and 26 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
14 Emergency Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 7 | 5 years | 2 dates, 25–26 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 7 | 5 years | 1 date, 3 Feb 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Alberta Emergency Medicine Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program focused on preparing competent emergency physicians.
- The program emphasizes clinical excellence, leadership development, and a holistic approach to medical education through innovative curriculum and diverse clinical experiences.
- Research
- Residents are expected to complete a scholarly project suitable for national or international presentation, with research areas including ED overcrowding, health outcomes, acute care, and medical education.
- Training setting
- Urban academic medical centers in Edmonton, Alberta, including multiple hospitals with diverse emergency department settings ranging from community hospitals to tertiary care trauma centers.
- Teaching approach
- Focused on producing complete physicians through Competence Based Medical Education, emphasizing Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) and CanMEDS competencies with the goal of creating leaders in emergency medicine.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV review
- Electives
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- MSPR review
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Scholarly activities
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. David Ha
Dr. Joanne NorumAssociate Program Director
Dr. Yang LiAssociate Program Director
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- Best hospitals in Canada for an Emergency Medicine elective? (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Elective student describes Royal Alex ED volume, acuity, teaching and satellite shiftsTopics: teaching
- EM Rank List (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Describes Alberta EM shifts, procedures, academic days, teaching and researchTopics: call · service · teaching
Emergency Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Edmonton
Did this page answer your question?