Skip to content
CdnMD

Kingston - Radiation Oncology

Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions+1 from 2 in the 2026 match changed: see what changed on the CaRMS page
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 29 Jan 2027virtual

Kingston, 4 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Research ties to the Queen's Cancer Research Institute, home of the Canadian Cancer Trials Group.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Queen's Radiation Oncology is a 5-year residency based at the Cancer Centre of Southeastern Ontario at Kingston Health Sciences Centre.
  • Community experience and pediatric oncology are provided outside the main training facility.
  • Each resident is expected to complete at least one significant research project, with proposals reviewed by a dedicated Research Committee.
  • Interviews are held by Zoom on January 29, 2027.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Respirology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD))
  • Pathology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD))
  • Medical Oncology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD))
  • Palliative Care (Foundations of Discipline (FOD))
  • Hematology/Oncology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD))
  • Gynecological Oncology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD))
  • brachytherapy (Core of Discipline (COD))
  • stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS) (Core of Discipline (COD))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Kingston, Ontario: 4 teaching sites.

  • Cancer Centre of Southeastern Ontario at Kingston Health Sciences Centre
  • Kingston General Hospital
  • Hotel Dieu Hospital
  • University of Toronto (Toronto)

Record systems at the listed sites: Lumeo at 2 of 4; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

2 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Lumeo regional health information system, fully electronic record since Dec 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Kingston General Hospital, Hotel Dieu Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Kingston

  • People

    132,485residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Kingston

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Kingston, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.0 °CJanuary mean20.8 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Kingston, 5.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Kingston (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
29 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.

7 Radiation Oncology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream35 years1 date, 29 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 2 → 3 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: positions (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years1 date, 23 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Queen's University Radiation Oncology residency program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience designed to prepare residents for successful careers in academic or community-based oncology practice.
  • The program provides an enriching academic environment with state-of-the-art facilities, multidisciplinary learning, and opportunities for research, mentorship, and professional growth.
Research
Residents are required to complete at least one significant research project, with support from a dedicated Research Committee and opportunities for national/international conference presentations and peer-reviewed publications.
Training setting
Located in Kingston, Ontario, with training primarily at the Cancer Centre of Southeastern Ontario at Kingston Health Sciences Centre, which includes Kingston General Hospital and Hotel Dieu Hospital.
Teaching approach
Follows Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) principles, emphasizing progressive skill development, formative feedback, and mastery of Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) across four training stages.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Multiple Mini Interview (MMI)
  • Collaboration skills assessment
  • Communication skills evaluation

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Oncology Program Coordinator

Write to the officeOncEdCoord@kingstonhsc.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Radiation Oncology elsewhere

Nearest to Kingston

  • Ottawa - Radiation OncologyUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa · 146 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Toronto - Radiation OncologyUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 241 km

    4 positions · CMG

  • Montreal, QC · 270 km

    2 positions · Regular

    Bilingual

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 20 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35453 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Quota published: 3. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Quota published: 3

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?