Skip to content
CdnMD

Kingston - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine

Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
9 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

2 dates, 9–10 Nov 2026virtual

Kingston, 13 teaching sites

Also at Queen’s, applied for at the school: Category 1 programs (Family Practice Anesthesia, Care of the Elderly, Emergency Medicine, Palliative Care): practising-physician / re-entry route, on Queen’s’s page of programs applied for at the school · practising physicians · no dates published (as of 10 Oct 2026)

Not through CaRMS: you apply to Queen’s, on its own dates. Confirm on the school’s page before you apply.

What stands out about this program

  • Stroke school run by neurology prepares residents to take an allotment of stroke call during the year.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Two-day cadaver course on airway, chest tubes and resuscitative thoracotomy.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Eight full-day summer boot camp on core resuscitation and procedural skills, shared with FRCP-EM residents.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This 1-year program prepares family physicians for the CFPC Examination of Added Competence in Emergency Medicine.
  • Core emergency blocks take place at Kingston Health Sciences Centre, with community emergency, ICU, anaesthesia, pediatric and trauma rotations at hospitals outside Kingston.
  • All residents graduate with core emergency POCUS certification, and a summer boot camp covers core resuscitation and procedural skills.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Offered · research or quality-improvement project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Emergency – tertiary (3-4 blocks · Kingston Health Sciences Centre (with horizontal trauma team call))
  • ICU (2 blocks · KGH ICU, Peterborough ICU or Oshawa ICU)
  • Emergency – community (2-3 blocks · Community Hospital Sites (Peterborough, Belleville, Brockville, Trenton, Napanee, Humber River (Toronto)))
  • Emergency – Pediatrics (1 block · CHEO (Ottawa))
  • Anaesthesia (1 block · Belleville, Brockville, or Cornwall)
  • Plastics, Ortho, or Trauma (1 block · Kingston (plastics), Oshawa (ortho) or Trauma Centre (Sunnybrook or St. Michael's in Toronto))
  • Advanced Point-of-Care Ultrasound (optional) (1 block · Kingston Health Sciences Centre)
  • Elective (1 block · Varies – Resident’s Choice)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Kingston, Ontario: 13 teaching sites.

  • Kingston Health Sciences Centre (KHSC)
  • Kingston General Hospital (KGH)
  • Hotel Dieu Hospital (HDH)
  • Belleville General Hospital (Belleville · rural or distributed site)
  • Peterborough Regional Health Centre (Peterborough · rural or distributed site)
  • Brockville General Hospital (Brockville · rural or distributed site)
  • Lennox and Addington County General Hospital (Napanee · rural or distributed site)
  • Humber River Hospital (Toronto)
  • Cornwall Community Hospital (Cornwall · rural or distributed site)
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
  • Oshawa General Hospital (Oshawa · rural or distributed site)
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
Show all 13 sites
  • St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 13, Lumeo at 4, MEDITECH at 1, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 4.

Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027).

Hospital facts

9 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Lumeo regional health information system, fully electronic record since Dec 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Kingston General Hospital (KGH), Hotel Dieu Hospital (HDH), Belleville General Hospital, Brockville General Hospital.

Peterborough Regional Health Centre

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Dec 2021 As of 31 Oct 2026

Humber River Hospital

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 2 more sites

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027 As of 31 Oct 2026

St. Michael's Hospital

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Kingston

  • People

    132,485residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Kingston

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Kingston, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.0 °CJanuary mean20.8 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Kingston, 5.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Kingston (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • “MCCQE Part I is required for IMG applicants”

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
9 and 10 Nov 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

DFM CaRMS Team, Program Coordinator

Write to the officedfm-carms@queensu.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Kingston

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 22 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34577 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?