Skip to content
CdnMD

Sault Ste. Marie - Pediatrics

NOSM UniversitySault Ste. Marie, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
4 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

3 dates, 25–27 Jan 2027virtual

Sault Ste. Marie, 6 teaching sites · required rural rotation

A car is required

What stands out about this program

  • General pediatrics training in northern centres far from tertiary care, paired with subspecialty rotations at CHEO in Ottawa.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Social pediatrics curriculum with a mandatory advocacy project.

    From “Selection criteria” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a four-year pediatrics residency combining training at northern Ontario sites with subspecialty and acute care rotations at CHEO in Ottawa.
  • Northern teaching sites include Thunder Bay, Sault Ste. Marie, North Bay and Sudbury, and a Sioux Lookout rotation is part of the core program.
  • Residents must complete a scholarly project and provide their own vehicles, with travel and housing support given for core rotations away from home base.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Early independence
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-2
  • Northern Consulting Pediatrics & Social Pediatrics (Sioux Lookout)Homebase/northern sites6 Blocks
  • Elective1 Block
  • Subspecialty (3)CHEO/Ottawa site
  • PICUCHEO/Ottawa site
  • PerinatesCHEO/Ottawa site
  • Surgical Subspecialty Outpatient/Research & Night FloatCHEO/Ottawa site
PGY-3
  • Northern Consulting Pediatrics, Child Maltreatment plus one opposite siteHomebase/northern sites7 Blocks
  • Elective1 Block
  • SubspecialtyCHEO/Ottawa site
  • PICUCHEO/Ottawa site
  • NICUCHEO/Ottawa site
  • Pediatrics Wards SRCHEO/Ottawa site
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine SRCHEO/Ottawa site
  • Research & Night FloatCHEO/Ottawa site
PGY-4
  • Northern Consulting PediatricsHomebase/northern sites6 Blocks
  • Elective4 Blocks
  • SubspecialtyCHEO/Ottawa site
  • Night Float SRCHEO/Ottawa site
  • PICUCHEO/Ottawa site
  • NICUCHEO/Ottawa site

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Northern Consulting Pediatrics plus one opposite site (7 Blocks · Homebase/northern sites)
  • Subspecialty (1) (CHEO/Ottawa site)
  • Pediatrics Wards JR (CHEO/Ottawa site)
  • Perinates (CHEO/Ottawa site)
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine JR (CHEO/Ottawa site)
  • Pediatric General Surgery (CHEO/Ottawa site)
  • Elective (1 Block)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario: 6 teaching sites; required rural rotation. A car is required.

  • Sault Area Hospital
  • Group Health Centre
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
  • Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC) (Thunder Bay · rural or distributed site)
  • Health Sciences North (HSN) (Sudbury · rural or distributed site)
  • North Bay Regional Health Centre (North Bay · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 6, MEDITECH at 4; no published record for 1.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences North (HSN).

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), fully electronic record since Oct 2019 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Sault Area Hospital, North Bay Regional Health Centre.

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC)

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Health Sciences North (HSN)

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Sault Ste. Marie

  • People

    72,051residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Sault Ste. Marie

  • Housing

    2.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Sault Ste

  • Winter and summer

    −9.8 °CJanuary mean17.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Sault Ste Marie, 14.6 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Sault Ste. Marie (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25, 26 and 27 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.

8 Pediatrics info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 4 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: West (Thunder Bay & Sault Ste. Marie).

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
20212 positions open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202200
202300
202400
20252 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream14 years3 dates, 25–27 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description

The NOSM University Pediatrics program offers a unique four-year residency that provides extensive training in northern urban centers and world-class subspecialty care at CHEO. Residents develop comprehensive pediatric skills through a distributed learning model that emphasizes hands-on experience, social accountability, and generalist pediatric practice.

Research
Residents are expected to complete a scholarly project with support from NOSM University and Ottawa research resources.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple northern Ontario sites (Thunder Bay, Sault Ste. Marie, North Bay, Sudbury) and at the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) in Ottawa, providing diverse urban and rural clinical experiences.
Teaching approach
Learner-centered, competency-based medical education emphasizing progressive independence, hands-on learning, and adaptability across different clinical settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV/Academic background
  • Electives
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Gautam Kumar

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Pediatrics elsewhere

Nearest to Sault Ste. Marie

  • Sudbury - PediatricsNOSM University

    Sudbury · 257 km

    1 position · CMG

  • North Bay - PediatricsNOSM University

    North Bay · 375 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Thunder Bay · 422 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35589 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?