Skip to content
CdnMD

West Nipissing - Bilingual - Family Medicine

NOSM UniversityWest Nipissing, OntarioCMG streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Thu 7 Jan 2027,7:00 pm EST

Interviews

3 dates, 21–23 Jan 2027virtual

West Nipissing, 2 teaching sites · based in a rural community

A car is recommended

After residency in Ontario: capitation model, entry capped

What stands out about this program

  • Bilingual community where about 60% report French as mother tongue, allowing care in both official languages.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Typically 1:1 learner-to-preceptor ratio at the rural site.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Additional $1500 donor funding for rural stream residents to attend skills courses like CASTED, AIME or ALARM.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 2-year NOSM University family medicine program based in West Nipissing, a northern community of about 14,500.
  • Clinical training is based at the West Nipissing Community Health Centre and Family Health Team, with off-service rotations typically in North Bay or Sudbury.
  • The stream requires fluent spoken French, although the program of study is offered in English.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Northern
  • Francophone minority communities
  • Indigenous health
  • Procedural emphasis
Research
Offered · research or quality-improvement project
Training language
English and French
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Family Medicine Rural24 weeks
  • Electives8 weeks
  • Internal Medicine4 weeks
  • Emergency Medicine4 weeks
  • Obstetrics/Women's Health4 weeks
  • Mental Health4 weeks
  • Pediatrics4 weeks
PGY-2
  • Family Medicine Rural24 weeks
  • Electives8 weeks
  • CARE Selective (Community Aligned Resident Experience)4 weeks
  • Internal Medicine4 weeks
  • Emergency Medicine4 weeks
  • Obstetrics/Women's Health4 weeks
  • Surgical Selective4 weeks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

West Nipissing, Ontario: 2 teaching sites; based in a rural community. A car is recommended.

  • West Nipissing Community Health Centre
  • West Nipissing Family Health Team

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 1 of 2; no published record for 1.

Moving to a new system: West Nipissing Community Health Centre.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

West Nipissing Community Health Centre

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About West Nipissing

  • People

    14,583residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of West Nipissing / Nipissing Ouest

  • Housing

    not published for this area

  • Winter and summer

    −12.3 °CJanuary mean19.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, North Bay, 39.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about West Nipissing (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house and home call
Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Jason Sutherland

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to West Nipissing - Bilingual

  • West Nipissing · 0 km

    1 position · CMG

    Rural
  • North Bay · 37 km

    7 positions · CMG, IMG

    Regional
  • Sudbury · 83 km

    12 positions · CMG, IMG

    Regional

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 37205 · How these pages are made ›

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Reference documents: wording changed. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Reference documents: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?