Skip to content
CdnMD

Sudbury - Family Medicine

NOSM UniversitySudbury, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
11 positions+1 from 10 in the 2026 match
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
51–200
601+
Offered interviews
76–100%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Observerships don’t count as clinical experience details under How they choose

Thu 7 Jan 2027,7:00 pm EST

Interviews

3 dates, 21–23 Jan 2027virtual

1 date, 15 Jan 2027virtual

Sudbury, 3 teaching sites · 16 rural weeks

A car is recommended

After residency in Ontario: capitation model, entry capped

What stands out about this program

  • Housing support for core rotations away from home base, up to 6 months per academic year.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Interviews can be requested in French, Ojibway, Cree or Anishininimowin.

    From “Interviews” on the CaRMS page

  • NOSM University's Sudbury Family Medicine stream is a 2-year program with largely community-based rotations.
  • Health Sciences North, a 526-bed tertiary care centre, is the main teaching hospital.
  • Urban residents complete mandatory rural blocks each year, with housing and travel support for rotations away from home base.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (16 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Rural / remote
  • Indigenous health
Research
Offered · research or quality-improvement project
Getting around
  • A car is recommended
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Family Medicine16
  • Family Medicine Rural8
  • Internal Medicine4
  • Emergency Medicine4
  • Obstetrics/Women's Health4
  • Mental Health4
  • Pediatrics4
  • Electives8
PGY-2
  • Family Medicine16
  • Family Medicine Rural8
  • CARE Selective (Community Aligned Resident Experience)4
  • Internal Medicine4
  • Emergency Medicine4
  • Obstetrics/Women's Health4
  • Surgical Selective4
  • Electives8
PGY-1
  • Family Medicine16
  • Family Medicine Rural8
  • Internal Medicine4
  • Emergency Medicine4
  • Obstetrics/Women’s Health4
  • Mental Health4
  • Pediatrics4
  • Electives8
PGY-2
  • Family Medicine16
  • Family Medicine Rural8
  • CARE Selective (Community Aligned Resident Experience)4
  • Internal Medicine4
  • Emergency Medicine4
  • Obstetrics/Women’s Health4
  • Surgical Selective4
  • Electives8

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Sudbury, Ontario: 3 teaching sites; 16 rural weeks. A car is recommended.

  • Health Sciences North (HSN)
  • Shirley and Jim Fielding Northeast Cancer Centre
  • Sudbury District Health Unit

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 1 of 3; no published record for 2.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences North (HSN).

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Health Sciences North (HSN)

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Greater Sudbury

  • People

    166,004residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Greater Sudbury / Grand Sudbury

  • Housing

    1.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Greater Sudbury, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −12.7 °CJanuary mean19.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Sudbury, 19.4 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Greater Sudbury (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
15 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 5 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Sudbury.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
20192 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20201 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20212 positions open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202200
20233 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20242 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream112 years3 dates, 21–23 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 10 → 11 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: requirements (noticed 13 Oct)
IMG stream12 years1 date, 15 Jan 2027Virtual
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: requirements (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream102 years5 dates, 22 Jan – 8 Feb 2026
IMG stream12 years1 date, 16 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The NOSM University Family Medicine Residency Program offers a comprehensive two-year training experience focused on community-based family medicine in Northern Ontario.
  • The program emphasizes distributed learning, cultural competency, and preparing physicians to serve diverse and underserved populations across rural and urban settings.
Research
Residents are supported in scholarly activities including research, quality improvement projects, and have opportunities to participate in Resident Research Day with expert tutoring.
Training setting
A diverse training environment spanning urban and rural Northern Ontario, with primary training sites in Sudbury and multiple community locations, offering exposure to various clinical settings including hospitals, community clinics, and Indigenous health centers.
Teaching approach
Utilizing the Triple C competency-based curriculum and CanMEDS-FM roles, the program focuses on comprehensive, continuous care with an emphasis on community-based learning, reflective practice, and personalized mentorship.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC (Family Medicine Professional Choices) assessment
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Jason Sutherland

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Sudbury

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Oct 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Oct 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35652 (CMG stream), 36525 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: CMG stream: Reference documents: wording changed and 2 more. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • CMG stream: Reference documents: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct
    • IMG stream: Language proficiency: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct
    • IMG stream: Reference documents: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream