Sioux Lookout - Family Medicine
NOSM UniversitySioux Lookout, OntarioCMG streamNew for 2027
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 2
- Length
- 2
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Thu 7 Jan 2027,7:00 pm EST
Interviews
3 dates, 21–23 Jan 2027
Sioux Lookout, 4 teaching sites · based in a rural community
What stands out about this program
Blocks may include a week providing care at a remote First Nations nursing station.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
Exposure to a Rapid Access Addictions Medicine (RAAM) Clinic during clinic blocks.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
Additional $1500 donor funding for rural stream residents to attend skills courses.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
- This two-year NOSM University family medicine stream is based in Sioux Lookout, a rural town of about 5,800 in Northwestern Ontario.
- Residents divide their time between the Hugh Allen Clinic and the Northern Clinic, with hospital training at Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre.
- Northern Clinic blocks may include a week at a remote First Nations nursing station.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Indigenous health
- Northern
- Research
- Offered · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
By year
- PGY-1
- Family Medicine Rural24 weeks
- Electives8 weeks
- Internal Medicine4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics/Women’s Health4 weeks
- Mental Health4 weeks
- Pediatrics4 weeks
- PGY-2
- Family Medicine Rural24 weeks
- Electives8 weeks
- CARE Selective (Community Aligned Resident Experience)4 weeks
- Internal Medicine4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics/Women’s Health4 weeks
- Surgical Selective4 weeks
Where you train
Sioux Lookout, Ontario: 4 teaching sites; based in a rural community. A car is recommended.
- Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre
- Hugh Allen Clinic
- Northern Clinic
- Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (Thunder Bay)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 2 of 4; no published record for 2.
Moving to a new system: Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, moving to a new system
Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page.
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Sioux Lookout
People
5,839residents, 2021 Census
Housing
not published for this area
Winter and summer
−17.2 °CJanuary mean18.8 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Thu 7 Jan 2027
7:00 pm EST
Social · Virtual
Mon 25 Jan 2027
7:00 pm EST
Info session · Virtual
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
After residency
Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Jason Sutherland
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Family Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Sioux Lookout
- Rural
- Rural
- Rural
Did this page answer your question?