Dryden - Family Medicine
NOSM UniversityDryden, OntarioCMG streamNew for 2027
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 2
- Length
- 2
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Thu 7 Jan 2027,7:00 pm EST
Interviews
3 dates, 21–23 Jan 2027
Dryden, 7 teaching sites · based in a rural community
What stands out about this program
Exposure includes obstetrics with Caesarean sections, surgical assisting and anesthesia at a rural hospital.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
Clinic and hospital training sites are on the same property.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
Rural stream residents get an extra $1500 of donor funding for skills courses in 2027-28.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 2-year NOSM University family medicine program based in Dryden, a rural community in Northwestern Ontario.
- Training centres on the Dingwall Medical Clinic, Dryden Regional Health Centre and Princess Court Long-Term Care Home, with off-service rotations mainly at Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre.
- The sample schedule includes 24 weeks of rural family medicine in each year.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Northern
- Indigenous health
- Procedural emphasis
- Research
- Offered · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
By year
- PGY-1
- Family Medicine Rural24 weeks
- Electives8 weeks
- Internal Medicine4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics/Women’s Health4 weeks
- Mental Health4 weeks
- Pediatrics4 weeks
- PGY-2
- Family Medicine Rural24 weeks
- Electives8 weeks
- CARE Selective (Community Aligned Resident Experience)4 weeks
- Internal Medicine4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics/Women’s Health4 weeks
- Surgical Selective4 weeks
Where you train
Dryden, Ontario: 7 teaching sites; based in a rural community. A car is recommended.
- Dingwall Medical Clinic
- Dryden Regional Health Centre
- Princess Court Long-Term Care Home
- Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (Thunder Bay)
- Lake of the Woods District Hospital (Kenora · rural or distributed site)
- NorWest Community Health Centre (Thunder Bay)
- Dryden Native Friendship Centre's Waasegiizhig Nanaandawe’iyewigamig Health Access Centre
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 3 of 7; no published record for 4.
Moving to a new system: Dryden Regional Health Centre; Lake of the Woods District Hospital.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, moving to a new system
Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page.
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Dryden
People
7,388residents, 2021 Census
Housing
not published for this area
Winter and summer
−17.2 °CJanuary mean18.8 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Thu 7 Jan 2027
7:00 pm EST
Social · Virtual
Mon 25 Jan 2027
7:00 pm EST
Info session · Virtual
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- In-house and home call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
After residency
Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Jason Sutherland
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Family Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Dryden
- Rural
- Rural
- Rural
Did this page answer your question?