Skip to content
CdnMD

St. John's - Orthopedic Surgery

Memorial University of NewfoundlandSt. John's, Newfoundland and LabradorCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · CMGs only

Interviews

1 date, 18 Jan 2027virtual

St. John's, 8 teaching sites · 12 rural weeks

What stands out about this program

  • Longitudinal model with mixed subspecialty experiences running concurrently rather than in isolated blocks.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Option to complete a Masters in Clinical Epidemiology during the five-year residency.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Research projects linked with Team Broken Earth's educational mandate in developing countries.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a five-year Competence by Design orthopedic surgery program designed to produce general orthopedic surgeons, based at three St. John's teaching hospitals.
  • Residents complete a mandatory three-month rural rotation in PGY 3 and a three-month elective in PGY 4.
  • The program uses a longitudinal model with concurrent mixed subspecialty experiences.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (12 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • Small program
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · research project

By year

PGY-1
  • Adult Orthopedic SurgeryHealth Sciences Centre St. Clare's Mercy Hospital Ambulatory Health Hub24 weeks (6 blocks)
  • Pediatric Orthopedic SurgeryJaneway Children's Health and Rehabilitation Centre8 weeks (2 blocks)
  • Night FloatHealth Sciences Centre St. Clare's Mercy Hospital4 weeks (1 block)
  • Emergency MedicineHealth Sciences Centre St. Clare's Mercy Hospital4 weeks (1 block)
  • General SurgeryHealth Sciences Centre (Acute Care Service Team)4 weeks (1 block)
  • Vascular SurgerySt. Clare's Mercy Hospital4 weeks (1 block)
  • RadiologyHealth Sciences Centre4 weeks (1 block)
PGY-2
  • Adult Orthopedic SurgeryHealth Sciences Centre St. Clare's Mercy Hospital Ambulatory Health Hub32 weeks (8 blocks)
  • NeurosurgeryHealth Sciences Centre8 weeks (2 blocks)
  • ICUHealth Sciences Centre8 weeks (2 blocks)
  • Night FloatHealth Sciences Centre St. Clare's Mercy Hospital4 weeks (1 block)
PGY-3
  • Adult Orthopedic SurgeryHealth Sciences Centre St. Clare's Mercy Hospital Ambulatory Health Hub28 weeks (7 blocks)
  • Community Orthopaedic SurgeryAt an approved site in NL12 weeks (3 blocks)
  • Plastic SurgeryHealth Sciences Centre8 weeks (2 blocks)
  • Night FloatHealth Science Centre St. Clare's Mercy Hospital4 weeks (1 block)
PGY-4
  • Adult Orthopedic SurgeryHealth Sciences Centre St. Clare's Mercy Hospital Ambulatory Health Hub24 weeks (6 blocks)
  • Subspecialty ElectiveAt an approved site.12 weeks (3 blocks)
  • Pediatric Orthopedic SurgeryJaneway Children's Health and Rehabilitation Centre12 weeks (3 blocks)
  • Night FloatHealth Sciences Centre St. Clare's Mercy Hospital4 weeks (1 block)
PGY-5
  • Adult Orthopedic SurgeryHealth Sciences Centre St. Clare's Mercy Hospital Ambulatory Health Hub36 weeks (9 blocks)
  • Pediatric Orthopedic SurgeryJaneway Children's Health and Rehabilitation Centre12 weeks (3 blocks)
  • Night FloatHealth Sciences Centre St. Clare's Mercy Hospital4 weeks (1 block)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador: 8 teaching sites; 12 rural weeks.

  • St. Clare's Mercy Hospital (SCMH)
  • Health Sciences Centre (HSC)
  • Janeway Children's Health and Rehabilitation Centre (JCH)
  • Ambulatory Health Hub
  • James Paton Memorial Hospital (Gander · rural or distributed site)
  • Western Memorial Regional Hospital (Corner Brook · rural or distributed site)
  • Saint John, NB (Saint John · rural or distributed site)
  • PEI regional hospitals (rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: CorCare at 4 of 8; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
CorCare, fully electronic record since Apr 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At St. Clare's Mercy Hospital (SCMH), Health Sciences Centre (HSC), James Paton Memorial Hospital, Western Memorial Regional Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Newfoundland and Labrador doesn't publish this as open data.

About St. John's

  • People

    110,525residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of St. John's

  • Housing

    2.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, St

  • Winter and summer

    −3.6 °CJanuary mean16.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, St. John's (West), 4.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about St. John's (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · CMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.

5 Orthopedic Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Newfoundland and Labrador, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Newfoundland and Labrador
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$69,175 / year
PGY-2
$74,779 / year
PGY-3
$79,848 / year
PGY-4
$85,137 / year
PGY-5
$90,868 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
1 day in 4 in-house, on average
Post-call rule (provincial)
May be relieved at 10:00 on the next regular work day, after handover, when call involved continuous or intensive care
Max continuous duty (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARNL agreement, 10 Aug 2022 to 30 Jun 2024. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

12 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Additional optional benefits, Annual vacation, CMPA dues, and more
Additional optional benefits
100% employee paid
Annual vacation
4 weeks/year
CMPA dues
100% reimbursement
Conference leave
7 days/pd
Extended health insurance
Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
Maternity/Paternity leave
Up to One year
Meal allowance
$105 per month
Parking fees
$5/year
Provincial health insurance
Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
Resident Student
Full-time status
Sick leave
1 day per month
Statutory holidays
1-1/2 x pay or paid day off

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream35 years1 date, 18 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream35 years1 date, 19 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Memorial University's Orthopedic Surgery Residency Program is a five-year Competence by Design program designed to produce a 'general' orthopedic surgeon.
  • Located in beautiful Newfoundland & Labrador, the program offers a tight-knit resident group, comprehensive training, and a focus on work-life balance in a welcoming environment.
Research
Residents participate in Resident Research Day, can engage in independent local research, multi-centre trials, and potentially complete a Masters in Clinical Epidemiology.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily in St. John's, Newfoundland, across multiple hospital sites including St. Clare's Mercy Hospital, Health Sciences Centre, and Janeway Children's Health and Rehabilitation Centre, with additional community hospital experiences.
Teaching approach
Follows a longitudinal training model with mixed subspecialty experiences occurring concurrently, emphasizing constant exposure and preventing skill stagnation. Focuses on producing well-rounded practitioners capable of collaboration and cooperation.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic achievement
  • References and CV
  • Scholarly activity interest
  • Extra-curricular interests
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Academic Program Administrator

Write to the officeorthoresidency@mun.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Program websiteWebsiteInstagramCANPREPPCANPREPPincludes a resident experience sectionFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Orthopedic Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to St. John's

  • Halifax - Orthopedic SurgeryDalhousie University

    Halifax, NS · 897 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Montreal, QC · 1,607 km

    3 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Ottawa - Orthopedic SurgeryUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 1,769 km

    5 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36510 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?