Skip to content
CdnMD

Eastern-Burin - Family Medicine

Memorial University of NewfoundlandEastern-Burin, Newfoundland and LabradorCMG streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · CMGs only

Interviews

2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2027virtual

Eastern-Burin, 1 teaching site · based in a rural community

After residency in Newfoundland and Labrador: capitation model open to new graduates

What stands out about this program

  • Second year is a longitudinal rural placement at Burin Family Practice, including rural hospitalist medicine.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Broad rural scope includes chemotherapy assessments and wilderness medicine.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year Memorial University family medicine stream trains residents mainly in a rural community on Newfoundland's Burin Peninsula.
  • First-year clinical experiences are primarily based in St. John's, with selected rural rotations.
  • The second year is a longitudinal rural family medicine experience at Burin Family Practice, and all residents complete a mandatory QI scholarly project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Other
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Eastern-Burin, Newfoundland and Labrador: 1 teaching site; based in a rural community.

  • Burin Family Practice (Burin · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 1 of 1.

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Newfoundland and Labrador doesn't publish this as open data.

About Burin

  • People

    2,237residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Burin

  • Housing

    not published for this area

  • Winter and summer

    −3.4 °CJanuary mean15.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, St. Lawrence, 23.4 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Burin (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not required · CMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Newfoundland and Labrador, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Newfoundland and Labrador
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$69,175 / year
PGY-2
$74,779 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 day in 4 in-house, on average
Post-call rule (provincial)
May be relieved at 10:00 on the next regular work day, after handover, when call involved continuous or intensive care
Max continuous duty (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARNL agreement, 10 Aug 2022 to 30 Jun 2024. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

12 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Additional optional benefits, Annual vacation, CMPA dues, and more
Additional optional benefits
100% employee paid
Annual vacation
4 weeks/year
CMPA dues
100% reimbursement
Conference leave
7 days/pd
Extended health insurance
Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
Maternity/Paternity leave
Up to One year
Meal allowance
$105 per month
Parking fees
$5/year
Provincial health insurance
Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
Resident Student
Full-time status
Sick leave
1 day per month
Statutory holidays
1-1/2 x pay or paid day off

After residency

Family doctors in Newfoundland and Labrador can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for enrolled patients and visits: the Blended Capitation Model (BCM). New graduates can join; they are eligible for both the start-up grant and the transition grant unless they join an established group, which has no start-up grant. To join: a group of at least three family physicians. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Kerry-Lynn Williams

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Academic Program Assistant

Write to the officefamilymed@mun.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Eastern-Burin

  • Eastern-Clarenville - Family MedicineMemorial University of Newfoundland

    Eastern-Clarenville · 153 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Eastern-Conception Bay North - Family MedicineMemorial University of Newfoundland

    Eastern-Conception Bay North · 165 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Eastern Stream - Family MedicineMemorial University of Newfoundland

    Eastern Stream · 193 km

    14 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 17 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 37183 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?