Skip to content
CdnMD

Hamilton - Neurology

McMaster UniversityHamilton, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

2 dates, 19–20 Jan 2027virtual

Hamilton, 4 teaching sites

Summary

  • McMaster's Neurology residency is a five-year program with a CBME curriculum.
  • Training takes place at Hamilton General Hospital, Juravinski Hospital, McMaster University Medical Centre and St. Joseph's Hospital.
  • Research is required, and each resident is assigned a mentor.
  • Residents write the CAN-BRAIN practice examination each year, and the program funds it.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Hamilton, Ontario: 4 teaching sites.

  • The Hamilton General Hospital
  • The Juravinski Hospital
  • McMaster University Medical Centre
  • St. Joseph's Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 4, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022 As of 31 Oct 2026. At The Hamilton General Hospital, The Juravinski Hospital, McMaster University Medical Centre.

St. Joseph's Hospital

Clinical record
Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Hamilton

  • People

    569,353residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Hamilton

  • Housing

    3.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Hamilton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19 and 20 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.

2 Neurology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Hamilton.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
20201 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202100
202200
202300
20242 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream45 years2 dates, 19–20 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 19–20 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream45 years2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McMaster University's Neurology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program designed to produce highly competent neurologists.
  • The program offers a rich clinical experience across multiple hospitals, with a strong emphasis on research, educational methodology, and developing well-rounded physicians who can effectively diagnose and manage neurological diseases.
Research
Research is mandatory, with each resident assigned a mentor to guide them towards research opportunities and initiatives.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban hospital sites in Hamilton, Ontario, including Hamilton General Hospital, Juravinski Hospital, McMaster University Medical Centre, and St. Joseph's Hospital, providing diverse clinical experiences.
Teaching approach
The program follows a Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) approach, emphasizing progressive independence, comprehensive skill development, and a supportive, collegial learning environment.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Kanjana Sashi Perera

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Coordinator

Write to the officemacneuro@mcmaster.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Neurology elsewhere

Nearest to Hamilton

  • Toronto - NeurologyUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 59 km

    9 positions · CMG, IMG

  • London - NeurologyWestern University

    London · 116 km

    5 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Kingston - NeurologyQueen’s University

    Kingston · 293 km

    CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 1 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 1 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36068 (CMG stream), 35757 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream