Kingston - Neurology
Queen’s UniversityKingston, Ontario
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 4
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Wed 20 Jan 2027,time not stated
Interviews
Not stated on CaRMS page
Kingston, 5 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Residents keep a 12-month longitudinal general neurology clinic with one mentor and follow their own patients.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Pre- and post-tests in EEG and EMG rotations, with a 70% score needed to pass.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Weekly brain-cutting rounds and monthly neuropathology sessions give residents regular neuropathology exposure.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- Queen's Neurology is a five-year Royal College program based at an academic referral centre in Kingston serving South Eastern Ontario.
- Residents complete a mandatory three-month neuropediatrics rotation, with travel and housing funded by Queen's University.
- Senior years include 3-6 research blocks, and residents keep a 12-month longitudinal general neurology clinic with a single mentor.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
By year
- PGY-1
- General Internal Medicine3 blocks
- Neurology3 blocks
- Cardiology2 blocks
- Emergency Medicine2 blocks
- Infectious Disease1 block
- Rheumatology1 block
- Palliative care1 block
- PGY-2
- Critical Care Medicine2 blocks
- Geriatric Psych iatry
- Neuro- Ophthalmology
- Neuro-Surgery
- Neuro-Radiology
Other rotations
- Neurology Inpatient Stroke Service (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 5-10 blocks)
- General Neurology (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 7-12 blocks)
- EEG- Epilepsy (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3 blocks)
- EMG- Neuromuscular (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3 blocks)
- Neuropathology (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3-4 blocks)
- Neuropediatrics (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3-6 blocks)
- Research (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3-6 blocks)
- Elective (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3 blocks)
- PGY-1
- General Internal Medicine3 blocks
- Neurology3 blocks
- Cardiology2 blocks
- Emergency Med2 blocks
- Infectious Disease1 block
- Rheumatology1 block
- Palliative care1 block
- PGY-2
- Critical Care2 blocks
- Geriatric Psychiatry
- Neuro- Opthalmology
- Neurosurgery
- Neruoradiology
Other rotations
- Neurology Inpatient Stroke Service (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 5-10 blocks)
- General Neurology (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 7-12 blocks)
- EEG- Epilepsy (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3 blocks)
- EMG- Neuromuscular (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3 blocks)
- Neuropathology (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3-4 blocks)
- Neuropediatrics (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3-6 blocks)
- Research (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3-6 blocks)
- Elective (Core of Discipline Con't (PGY 3-5 year) · 3 blocks)
Where you train
Kingston, Ontario: 5 teaching sites.
- Kingston General Hospital
- Hotel Dieu Hospital
- Providence Care Hospital
- Hospital for Sick Children - Toronto (Toronto)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario - Ottawa (Ottawa)
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 5, Lumeo at 3.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Lumeo regional health information system, fully electronic record since Dec 2024
Hospital for Sick Children - Toronto
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario - Ottawa
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Kingston
People
132,485residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.4%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−7.0 °CJanuary mean20.8 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Info sessions
Wed 20 Jan 2027
time not stated
Social · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 4 | 5 years |
| |
| IMG stream | Positions not stated | 5 years | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 4 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- Queen's University offers a five-year neurology residency program fully accredited by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.
- The program provides comprehensive clinical exposure to a diverse range of neurological cases, with a strong emphasis on education, mentorship, and a supportive learning environment.
- Research
- Residents have dedicated research blocks (3-6 blocks) and opportunities to collaborate with the Center for Neuroscience and basic science researchers.
- Training setting
- Academic medical center located in Kingston, Ontario, with multiple hospital sites including Kingston General Hospital, Hotel Dieu Hospital, and Providence Care Hospital. Serves a regional catchment population of approximately 600,000 people.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with a supportive, experiential learning approach that emphasizes independent skill development, hands-on clinical exposure, and rigorous evaluation methods.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical school transcript
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Personal letter
- CV
- 3 Letters of reference
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Stuart Reid
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Assistant
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Neurology elsewhere
Nearest to Kingston
- Bilingual
Did this page answer your question?