Skip to content
CdnMD

Halifax - Anesthesiology

Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
7 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

2 dates, 30–31 Jan 2027MMI or rotating station

Halifax, 6 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Up to 8 months of elective time across training.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Minimum of about 6 blocks at community sites across the Maritimes outside Halifax.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Dalhousie's five-year anesthesia residency is based at the QEII Health Science Center in Halifax, with pediatric and obstetric training at the IWK Health Centre.
  • At least 10% of training, about 6 blocks, takes place at sites outside Halifax Regional Municipality.
  • Residents must complete a scholarly project and have up to 8 months of elective time.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • orientation in non-subspecialty anesthesia (Transition to Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Airway and ENT (Foundations)
  • Perioperative Medicine (Foundations)
  • Surgery (Foundations)
  • Obstetrics (Foundations)
  • Pediatrics (Foundations)
  • Cardiovascular (Foundations)
  • Pain and Regional (Foundations)
  • Emergency and Critical Care (Foundations)
  • PLB (Personal Learning Block) (Foundations)
  • Pediatrics (Core)
  • Neuro (Core)
  • Obstetrics (Core)
  • Cardiovascular (Core)
  • POCUS (Core)
  • Thoracic (Core)
  • Complex Surgery (Core)
  • Community (Core)
  • Out of OR anesthesia (Core)
  • Perioperative Medicine (Core)
  • Pain and Regional (Core)
  • Emergency and Critical Care Medicine (Core)
  • Other (Core)
  • Pediatrics (Transition To Practice)
  • Obstetrics (Transition To Practice)
  • Complex Surgery (Transition To Practice)
  • Community anesthesia (Transition To Practice)
  • Critical Care (Transition To Practice)
  • electives or scholarly work (Transition To Practice · 8 blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Halifax, Nova Scotia: 6 teaching sites.

  • QEII Health Science Center
  • Halifax Infirmary
  • Victoria General
  • Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth)
  • IWK Health Centre
  • Horizon Health New Brunswick - Moncton (Moncton · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 5 of 6; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

5 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
One Person One Record, fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At QEII Health Science Center, Halifax Infirmary, Victoria General, Dartmouth General Hospital.

How to read the figures

  • Hospital type. As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

QEII Health Science Center

This name covers 2 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary

Halifax Infirmary

Matched to QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

Victoria General

Matched to QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary
Show facts for 2 more sites

Dartmouth General Hospital

Matched to Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Regional

IWK Health Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health (One Person One Record), fully electronic record since Dec 2025 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to IWK Health Centre (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date). As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

About Halifax

  • People

    439,819residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Halifax

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Halifax, Nova Scotia (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −4.1 °CJanuary mean18.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Shearwater, 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Halifax (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
30 and 31 Jan 2027
Format
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year
PGY-4
$95,485 / year
PGY-5
$101,926 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream75 years2 dates, 30–31 Jan 2027MMI or rotating stationNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream75 years31 Dec 2025 – 18 Jan 2026, listed as a range
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Dalhousie University's Anesthesiology Residency is a comprehensive 5-year program designed to train highly competent, compassionate anesthesiologists.
  • The mid-sized program offers individualized attention, ensuring residents develop clinical, academic, research, and professional skills while maintaining a focus on resident wellness and work-life balance.
Research
Formal research methodology course, active journal and research clubs, required scholarly project with support from research office. Major research areas include pediatric and adult pain, airway management, obstetrics, cardiovascular, ambulatory anesthesia, and sepsis.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple sites in the Maritime provinces, including urban academic medical centers like QEII Health Science Center and IWK Health Centre, with rotations available throughout Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing case-based learning, simulation, small group teaching, and individualized mentorship through clinical rotations and academic programs.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Electives
  • MMI interview
  • Extra-curricular activities

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Program websiteWebsiteXCANPREPPCANPREPPincludes a resident experience sectionFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Anesthesiology elsewhere

Nearest to Halifax

  • Montreal - AnesthesiologyMcGill University

    Montreal, QC · 790 km

    8 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • St. John's - AnesthesiologyMemorial University of Newfoundland

    St. John's, NL · 897 km

    5 positions · CMG

  • Montfort - Bilingual, ON · 955 km

    1 position · CMG

    Bilingual

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 11 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36518 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?