Skip to content
CdnMD

London - Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery

Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 23 Jan 2027virtual

London, 3 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Selection uses a holistic review rubric built on ten traits ranked by surveyed faculty and residents.

    From “Selection criteria” on the CaRMS page

  • Western University's Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery residency is an approximately five-year program integrated across the major teaching hospitals in London.
  • The first 16 months are core surgical training, followed by on-service rotations including one month each of Pathology and Radiology/Research in PGY-3 and three months of electives.
  • Residents present research at an annual Research Day in PGY-2, -3 and -5.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-3
  • Pathology1 month
  • Radiology and Research1 month

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • core surgical training (16 months)
  • elective rotations (PGY-3 to PGY-4 · 3 months)
  • Rhinology/Facial Plastics - RFP (St. Joseph's Health Care-SJHC)
  • Otology/Neuro-Otology - ONO (LHSC-University Hospital)
  • Head and Neck Oncology - HN (LHSC-Victoria Hospital)
  • Pediatrics - PED (LHSC-Victoria Hospital)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

London, Ontario: 3 teaching sites.

  • St. Joseph's Health Care-SJHC
  • LHSC-University Hospital
  • LHSC-Victoria Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2 of 3; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

2 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
OneChart (Cerner electronic patient record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At LHSC-University Hospital, LHSC-Victoria Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About London

  • People

    422,324residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of London

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, London, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −5.4 °CJanuary mean21.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, London, 10.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about London (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
23 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

5 Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream45 years1 date, 23 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG streamHead and Neck Surgery - Otolaryngology45 years1 date, 24 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Western University's Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery program is a globally renowned, five-year residency that provides outstanding, well-rounded training.
  • The program aims to develop highly competent surgeons and consultants who can excel in academic and community practice.
Research
Residents present research at annual Residents' Research Day, with opportunities in multiple research laboratories and potential Master's degree pursuit.
Training setting
Integrated program involving major teaching hospitals in London, Ontario, including St. Joseph's Health Care and London Health Sciences Centre (LHSC) sites.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education with a graded escalation of responsibility, focusing on developing residents' skills across CanMEDS roles and ensuring comprehensive, targeted learning outcomes.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Reference letters
  • Interviews
  • Academic record
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Personal letter
  • Elective experiences
  • Research/Publications

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to London

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 28 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35838 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?