Skip to content
CdnMD

London - Ophthalmology

Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 26 Jan 2027virtual

London, 4 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Up to 6 months of electives across the five years, including community, subspecialty or research electives.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Western University's ophthalmology residency is a 5-year program with a broadly based PGY-1 general year followed by four core years of integrated ophthalmology training.
  • Most core training takes place at the Ivey Eye Institute at St. Joseph's Health Care in London, with neuro-ophthalmology at University Hospital and pediatric surgery at Victoria Hospital.
  • Residents must take part in clinical or basic science research and may take up to 6 months of electives.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

London, Ontario: 4 teaching sites.

  • Ivey Eye Institute
  • St. Joseph's Health Care
  • University Hospital of the London Health Sciences Centre
  • Children's Hospital (Victoria Hospital)

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 3 of 4; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
OneChart (Cerner electronic patient record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At University Hospital of the London Health Sciences Centre, Children's Hospital (Victoria Hospital).

St. Joseph's Health Care

Clinical record
Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About London

  • People

    422,324residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of London

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, London, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −5.4 °CJanuary mean21.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, London, 10.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about London (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

10 Ophthalmology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years1 date, 26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years1 date, 22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Western University Ophthalmology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program designed to produce outstanding clinicians who can provide high-level ophthalmology care across Canada.
  • The program offers a thorough clinical experience with subspecialty exposure, academic curriculum, research opportunities, and personalized mentorship.
Research
Residents must participate in clinical or basic science research, with support from a dedicated Research Director and Research Committee.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily at the Ivey Eye Institute at St. Joseph's Health Care in London, with additional rotations at University Hospital, London Health Sciences Centre, and Children's Hospital (Victoria Hospital).
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with graded responsibility, progressive independence, and emphasis on diagnostic skill acquisition and surgical ability development.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • MSPR completion
  • Academic record
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Interview performance
  • Research/publications
  • Leadership skills
  • Scholarly activities

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Verena Juncal

  • Dr. Lulu Bursztyn

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Program websiteWebsiteCANPREPPCANPREPPincludes a resident experience sectionFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Ophthalmology elsewhere

Nearest to London

  • Hamilton - OphthalmologyMcMaster University

    Hamilton · 116 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Toronto - OphthalmologyUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 168 km

    5 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Kingston - OphthalmologyQueen’s University

    Kingston · 407 km

    3 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 27 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36178 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?