Skip to content
CdnMD

Sarnia - Family Medicine

Western UniversitySarnia, OntarioNew for 2027

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
76–100%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirements: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program; Observerships don’t count as clinical experience details under How they choose

Interviews

3 dates, 20–24 Jan 2027virtual

1 date, 15 Jan 2027virtual

Sarnia, teaching sites not stated on CaRMS page

After residency in Ontario: capitation model, entry capped

Summary

  • This is Western University's two-year Sarnia family medicine residency, and training begins after a one-day orientation in London, Ontario.
  • Applicants must take the FM-ProC situational judgement test, and interviews are held virtually.

What training looks like

Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Sarnia, Ontario: teaching sites not stated on the CaRMS page.

About Sarnia

  • People

    72,047residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Sarnia

  • Housing

    4.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Sarnia, Ontario (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −4.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Sarnia, 1.9 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Sarnia (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20, 23 and 24 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
15 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Daniel Grushka

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Postgraduate Program Coordinator

Write to the officejberge33@uwo.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Sarnia

  • Rural Petrolia · 23 km

    3 positions · CMG, IMG

    Rural
  • Chatham-Kent · 66 km

    3 positions · CMG, IMG

    Regional
  • Windsor - Family MedicineWestern University

    Windsor · 90 km

    10 positions · CMG, IMG

    City
In these collections:

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 37084 (CMG stream), 37083 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream