Oxford County - Family Medicine
Western UniversityOxford County, OntarioNew for 2027
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 2
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%0–25%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Info session
all 3 info sessions of this programWed 4 Nov 2026,6:30–8:30 pm ESTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
3 dates, 20–24 Jan 2027
1 date, 15 Jan 2027
Oxford County, teaching sites not stated on CaRMS page
Summary
- This is a 2-year Western University family medicine residency stream; the page points to its website for the Woodstock Program curriculum.
- Training begins July 1, 2027 after a one-day orientation in London, Ontario.
- Applicants must take the FM-ProC situational judgement test, and interviews are held virtually.
What training looks like
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Where you train
Oxford County, Ontario: teaching sites not stated on the CaRMS page.
Also trains in: Alexandra Hospital (Ingersoll), Tillsonburg District Memorial Hospital (sites from the school’s own website; CaRMS lists none)
About Woodstock
People
46,705residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.8%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−5.0 °CJanuary mean21.2 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match), CMG stream
- 20, 23 and 24 Jan 2027
- Interview dates (2027 match), IMG stream
- 15 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Wed 4 Nov 2026
6:30–8:30 pm EST
Info session · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Wed 11 Nov 2026
7:00–9:00 pm EST
Q&A · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Wed 18 Nov 2026
6:30–8:30 pm EST
Info session · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
After residency
Family doctors in Ontario can join a model that pays for enrolled patients, hours worked and visits: the Family Health Organization (FHO), FHO+ since 1 April 2026. A new graduate is a physician who joins a patient enrolment model within three years of completing a family medicine residency; the status runs for 12 months from joining. Entry is capped: 40 physicians a month for FHO, 60 a month for FHO+ in the first year of the 2024-2028 agreement; later years to be determined. Compare provinces
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Daniel Grushka
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Postgraduate Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- Top Family Med Sites in Ontario (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Former regional FM resident on hospitalist/ER focus and shiftsTopics: call · service
Family Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Oxford County
- Rural
- Regional
- Rural
Did this page answer your question?