Skip to content
CdnMD

Moncton - Psychiatry

Université de SherbrookeMoncton, New BrunswickRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

2 dates, 21–28 Jan 2027virtual

Moncton, 9 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Forensic psychiatry training in a large federal prison infirmary.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Francophone psychiatry training in New Brunswick, with exposure to a bilingual patient population.

    From “Important information” on the CaRMS page

  • An R4 rotation in medical teaching and quality improvement gives protected time to review for certification exams.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a francophone psychiatry program based in Moncton, New Brunswick, run as a distributed track of the Université de Sherbrooke residency.
  • The five-year program trains mainly at the Centre hospitalier universitaire Dr-Georges-L.-Dumont, which hosts most junior training (R1 to R4).
  • The fifth year is devoted to elective rotations chosen by the resident.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Francophone minority communities
  • Small program
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Training language
French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Introduction à la psychiatrie (PREMIÈRE PHASE : Progression vers la discipline · 3 périodes)
  • Médecine de famille (DEUXIÈME PHASE : Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Médecine interne et clinique des troubles du sommeil (DEUXIÈME PHASE : Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Médecine d’urgence (DEUXIÈME PHASE : Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Soins palliatifs (DEUXIÈME PHASE : Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Neurologie (DEUXIÈME PHASE : Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Traitement des troubles d’usage de substances (DEUXIÈME PHASE : Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Urgence psychiatrique et intervention de crise (DEUXIÈME PHASE : Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 périodes, discontinues)
  • psychiatrie adulte générale (DEUXIÈME PHASE : Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · quatre stages de 3 ou 4 périodes chacun)
  • Psychiatrie de l'enfant et de l'adolescent (TROISIÈME PHASE : Maîtrise de la discipline · total de 6 périodes, divisées en deux stages de 3 périodes)
  • Gérontopsychiatrie (TROISIÈME PHASE : Maîtrise de la discipline · total de 6 périodes, divisées en deux stages de 3 périodes)
  • Suivi intensif en communauté et traitement des troubles mentaux sévères et persistants et de double-diagnostics (TROISIÈME PHASE : Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 périodes à temps plein)
  • Consultation-liaison et neuropsychiatrie (TROISIÈME PHASE : Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 périodes à temps plein)
  • Psychiatrie légale et en milieu carcéral, en mosaïque avec thérapie de groupe (TROISIÈME PHASE : Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 périodes à temps plein)
  • Stage de pédagogie médicale et amélioration continue de la qualité (TROISIÈME PHASE : Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 périodes à temps plein)
  • stages optionnels (QUATRIÈME PHASE : Transition vers la pratique)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Moncton, New Brunswick: 9 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Centre hospitalier universitaire Dr-Georges-L.-Dumont de Moncton
  • Cliniques ambulatoires de psychiatrie de Dieppe (Dieppe)
  • Centres de santé mentale et de traitement des dépendances communautaires de Moncton et Richibucto
  • Unité de médecine familiale universitaire de Dieppe (Dieppe)
  • Hôpital de Moncton
  • Centre de traitement des dépendances de Moncton
  • Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke, du Santé Québec Estrie (Sherbrooke)
  • Clinique de psychiatrie légale de Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke)
  • Hôpital régional Chaleur de Bathurst (Bathurst · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 9 of 9.

Hospital facts

1 site · public figures where the province publishes them

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Hôpital de Moncton

Matched to The Moncton Hospital / L’Hôpital de Moncton (Moncton) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
381 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.

About Moncton

  • People

    79,470residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Moncton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Moncton, New Brunswick (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −8.4 °CJanuary mean19.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Moncton, 7.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Moncton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
21 and 28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

11 Psychiatry info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year
PGY-4
$95,485 / year
PGY-5
$101,926 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Moncton.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
20191 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202000
20211 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202200
202300
202400
202500
202601 position open after round 2 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream25 years2 dates, 21–28 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamMoncton - Psychiatrie25 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université de Sherbrooke's Francophone Psychiatry Residency Program in New Brunswick is a decentralized training pathway focused on forming versatile, autonomous clinical psychiatrists.
  • The program emphasizes developing competent professionals who are aware of community and societal issues, with a strong commitment to patient advocacy and exemplary practice.
Research
Residents can engage in fundamental or clinical research, quality improvement projects, and scholarly activities throughout their training.
Training setting
A decentralized training program based in Moncton, New Brunswick, with clinical experiences across community hospitals, psychiatric clinics, mental health centers, and university teaching hospitals.
Teaching approach
A competency-based approach focusing on progressive skill development, with emphasis on clinical reasoning, communication, professionalism, and adaptable psychiatric practice across diverse patient populations.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Interview performance
  • Motivation letter
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Academic record
  • Standardized reference forms

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Jean-Robert Maltais

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Adjointe administrative - Psychiatrie

Write to the officepsychiatrie-postdoc-nb@USherbrooke.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Psychiatry elsewhere

Nearest to Moncton

  • Québec - PsychiatryUniversité Laval

    Québec, QC · 499 km

    13 positions · Regular

  • Sherbrooke - PsychiatryUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Sherbrooke, QC · 557 km

    12 positions · Regular, Regular (NRQ) RoS

  • Montreal - PsychiatryMcGill University

    Montreal, QC · 684 km

    10 positions · Regular

    Bilingual

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35622 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?