Skip to content
CdnMD

Sherbrooke - Neurology

Université de SherbrookeSherbrooke, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 2 Feb 2027virtual

Sherbrooke, 11 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Supervised autonomy on call starting in R2, with direct contact with referring physicians.

    From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents can become competent and independent in EEG and EMG by the end of residency.

    From “Selection criteria” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a five-year neurology residency at Université de Sherbrooke, with CHUS as the main training site.
  • Rotations at Hôpital Charles-LeMoyne and CHU Ste-Justine are mandatory, and other sites are available as electives.
  • All residents must submit a research project starting in R2, and an optional clinician-researcher program adds one year with protected research time.
  • The interview is virtual and takes place on 2 February 2027.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Early independence
  • Small program
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Neurologie générale (unité d'enseignement, consultations à l'urgence, consultations à l'étage) (Progression vers la discipline)
  • Psychiatrie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • Neurochirurgie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • MD urgence (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • Soins intensifs (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • MD interne (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Cardiologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • Rhumatologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • Gériatrie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • Maladies infectieuses (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • Neurologie générale (unité d'enseignement, consultations à l'urgence, consultations à l'étage) (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 7-8 périodes · CHUS et/ou CHCLM)
  • Neurologie générale Chicoutimi (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · Chicoutimi)
  • Recherche (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période minimum)
  • Neuroradiologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 à 3 périodes)
  • Électifs (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 à 3 périodes)
  • EEG (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3-4 périodes)
  • EMG (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3-4 périodes)
  • Neuropédiatrie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 périodes · Ste-Justine ou Children-1 période possible CHUS Fleurimont)
  • Neuropathologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Cliniques externes spécialisées (Maîtrise de la discipline · 4 périodes minimum · CHUS et/ou Neuro Rive-Sud)
  • Neuropsychiatrie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Recherche (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 périodes minimum)
  • Neurologie générale (unité d'enseignement, consultations à l'urgence, consultations à l'étage) (Maîtrise de la discipline · 6 périodes · CHUS et/ou CHCLM et/ou Chicoutimi)
  • Soins palliatifs (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Électifs (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • Neurologie générale (unité d'enseignement, consultations à l'urgence, consultations à l'étage) (Transition vers la pratique · 3 périodes minimum · CHUS et/ou CHCLM)
  • EEG (Transition vers la pratique · 3-4 périodes)
  • EMG (Transition vers la pratique · 3-4 périodes)
  • Électifs (Transition vers la pratique)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Sherbrooke, Quebec: 11 teaching sites.

  • CHUS (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke)
  • Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne incluant la clinique Neuro Rive-Sud
  • Hôpital Ste-Justine (Montréal)
  • CHUL (centre mère-enfant de Québec) (Québec)
  • l'hôpital pour enfants de Montréal (Montréal)
  • Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) (Québec)
  • Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi · rural or distributed site)
  • Maisonneuve-Rosemont
  • Sacré-Cœur
  • Pierre-Boucher
  • Trois-Rivières (Trois-Rivières · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: ARIANE at 1 of 11, Cristal-Net at 2, DCi-ChartMaxx at 1, Epic at 2, Purkinje-HM at 1, TELUS at 1; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

11 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic: Dossier santé numérique (DSN), fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Sacré-Cœur, Trois-Rivières.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHUS (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke)

Clinical record
DCI ARIANE (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

This name covers 2 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532
Licensed beds
physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20
CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,578 · 2026–2027: 18,319
Licensed beds
physical health 216 · psychiatry 105

Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne incluant la clinique Neuro Rive-Sud

Clinical record
Purkinje-HM (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital Charles-le Moyne (Longueuil) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629
Licensed beds
physical health 571

Hôpital Ste-Justine

Clinical record
DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Show facts for 7 more sites

CHUL (centre mère-enfant de Québec)

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56

l'hôpital pour enfants de Montréal

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552

Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
Licensed beds
physical health 335

Hôpital de Chicoutimi

Matched to Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Saguenay) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 20,522 · 2026–2027: 21,228
Licensed beds
physical health 311 · psychiatry 57 · neonatology 19 · hôtellerie 21

Maisonneuve-Rosemont

Matched to Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
Licensed beds
physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26

Sacré-Cœur

Matched to Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur-de-Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
Licensed beds
physical health 420 · geriatrics 20

Pierre-Boucher

Matched to Hôpital Pierre-Boucher (Longueuil) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 23,690 · 2026–2027: 24,579
Licensed beds
physical health 334 · psychiatry 35 · neonatology 15

Quebec's Dossier santé numérique is live at two regional health authorities only (Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal and Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec). No date is published for the other establishments. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Sherbrooke

  • People

    172,950residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Sherbrooke

  • Housing

    2.7%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Sherbrooke, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.5 °CJanuary mean19.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Lennoxville, 9.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Sherbrooke (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
2 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

2 Neurology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream35 years1 date, 2 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamSherbrooke - Neurologie35 years1 date as the CaRMS page writes it
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Neurology Program at Université de Sherbrooke offers a comprehensive training experience focused on developing complete neurologists capable of practicing in various settings.
  • The program emphasizes personalized follow-up, supervised autonomy, and a collegial learning environment with flexible training tailored to individual career aspirations.
Research
Residents are required to submit a research project by R2 year, with options to enter the Clinician-Researcher Program, which adds a year with protected research time and potential master's degree.
Training setting
Primary training at CHUS (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke), with affiliated hospitals including Charles-Le Moyne, Ste-Justine, and Chicoutimi Hospital, offering diverse urban and academic medical center experiences.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing personalized learning, immediate feedback, and comprehensive neurological training across multiple clinical settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic record/clinical stages (40%)
  • Interview (35%)
  • Letters of recommendation (15%)
  • Motivation letter (10%)

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Secrétaire du programme de neurologie

Write to the officeneuroprogramme-fmss@usherbrooke.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Neurology elsewhere

Nearest to Sherbrooke

  • Montreal - Neurology, MontréalUniversité de Montréal

    Montreal · 131 km

    4 positions · Regular

  • Montreal · 131 km

    3 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Québec - NeurologyUniversité Laval

    Québec · 165 km

    4 positions · Regular

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35415 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?