Skip to content
CdnMD

Estrie - Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine

Université de SherbrookeEstrie, QuebecRegular stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 17 Nov 2026virtual

Estrie, 8 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Event coverage includes university football, QMJHL junior hockey and elite short-track speed skating in Sherbrooke.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • Dedicated rotation and courses in ultrasound-guided musculoskeletal injections.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • Training takes place at sites in Estrie and Montérégie.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Training language
French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Médecine du sport (6)
  • Orthopédie (3)
  • Rhumatologie (1)
  • Infiltrations échoguidées (1)
  • Plastie (1)
  • Stage optionnel (2)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Estrie, Quebec: 8 teaching sites.

  • Clinique de médecine sportive de l'Université Bishop (Sherbrooke)
  • Santé Québec Estrie - CHUS - site Fleurimont (Sherbrooke)
  • Santé Québec Montérégie-Centre - site Charles-Le Moyne (Greenfield Park · rural or distributed site)
  • Centre de médecine du sport et de l'exercice - Montérégie (Brossard · rural or distributed site)
  • GMF-U Charles-Le Moyne (Saint-Lambert · rural or distributed site)
  • Clinique Kinatex Dix30 (Brossard · rural or distributed site)
  • GMF-U Saint-Hyacinthe (Saint-Hyacinthe · rural or distributed site)
  • GMF-U Saint-Jean-sur Richelieu (Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 8 of 8.

Hospital facts

2 sites · public figures where the province publishes them

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Santé Québec Estrie - CHUS - site Fleurimont

Matched to CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532
Licensed beds
physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20

Santé Québec Montérégie-Centre - site Charles-Le Moyne

Matched to Hôpital Charles-le Moyne (Longueuil) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629
Licensed beds
physical health 571

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Sherbrooke

  • People

    172,950residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Sherbrooke

  • Housing

    2.7%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Sherbrooke, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.5 °CJanuary mean19.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Lennoxville, 9.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Sherbrooke (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
17 Nov 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$70,890 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Emmanuelle BaronDirectrice du Programme de compétences avancées en médecine du sport et de l'exercice

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Secrétaire de direction

Write to the officemedfam-pca@usherbrooke.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Estrie

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 21 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34626 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?