Skip to content
CdnMD

Saskatoon - Neurosurgery

University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
6 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 25 Jan 2027virtual

Saskatoon, teaching sites not stated on CaRMS page

What stands out about this program

  • Research opportunities include neurosurgical applications of the synchrotron.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Pediatric neurosurgery and spine are integrated into daily work rather than separate rotations.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Up to six months of the research/subspecialty year may be spent outside Saskatchewan.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Saskatchewan Neurosurgery residency is a 6-year program, with at least twelve months of neurosurgery in PGY-1 and 2.
  • Residents complete 30 additional months of clinical neurosurgery in PGY-3 to 6, and one year may be spent in research or subspecialty training.
  • Call is home call, and pediatrics and spine are integrated into daily work rather than separate rotations.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Early independence
Research
Offered · research project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • General Surgery/Trauma (PGY-1 and 2)
  • Plastics (PGY-1 and 2)
  • Ortho Spine (PGY-1 and 2)
  • ICU (PGY-1 and 2)
  • Emergency Medicine (PGY-1 and 2)
  • Neurology (PGY-1 and 2)
  • neurosurgery (PGY-1 and 2 · at least twelve months)
  • clinical neurosurgery (PGY-3 to 6 · 30 additional months)
  • outpatient clinic (PGY-3 to 6)
  • Cerebrovascular Neurosurgery (PGY-3 to 6)
  • Neuroradiology (PGY-3 to 6)
  • Neuropathology (PGY-3 to 6)
  • Peripheral Nerve (PGY-3 to 6)
  • basic or clinical research (PGY-3 to 6 · One year)
  • community neurosurgery rotation (Electives · Regina)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: teaching sites not stated on the CaRMS page.

About Saskatoon

  • People

    266,141residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Saskatoon

  • Housing

    3.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −15.4 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Saskatoon Diefenbaker (Airport), 5.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Saskatoon (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

4 Neurosurgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 6 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year
PGY-3
$80,700 / year
PGY-4
$86,858 / year
PGY-5
$92,968 / year
PGY-6
$99,065 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
Home call
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Saskatoon.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
20222 positions open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202300
20241 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream16 years1 date, 25 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream16 years1 date, 26 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Saskatchewan offers a comprehensive 6-year Neurosurgery residency program fully accredited by the Royal College.
  • The program aims to train exceptional, well-rounded neurosurgeons through a competency-based curriculum with extensive research opportunities and hands-on clinical experience.
Research
Clinical and basic research strongly supported, with opportunities in spine injury, pediatric neurosurgery, oncology, neural regeneration, stroke, epilepsy surgery, and synchrotron neurosurgical applications.
Training setting
Located in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, with potential rotations in Regina and other Saskatchewan communities. Training occurs primarily at Royal University Hospital with a provincial, distributive learning approach.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing comprehensive training across surgical foundations and neurosurgical specialties. Strong focus on research, clinical skills, and interprofessional collaboration.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CaRMS application
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Casper test
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance
  • Research experience
  • Leadership skills

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeneuro.surgery@usask.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Program websiteWebsiteCANPREPPCANPREPPincludes a resident experience sectionFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Videos and podcasts

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Neurosurgery elsewhere

Nearest to Saskatoon

  • Edmonton - NeurosurgeryUniversity of Alberta

    Edmonton, AB · 484 km

    3 positions · CMG

  • Calgary - NeurosurgeryUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary, AB · 525 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Winnipeg - NeurosurgeryUniversity of Manitoba

    Winnipeg, MB · 711 km

    2 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 3 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35587 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?