Skip to content
CdnMD

North West (Meadow Lake) - Rural - Family Medicine

University of SaskatchewanNorth West (Meadow Lake), SaskatchewanCompetitive streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
26–50%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027virtual

North West (Meadow Lake), 3 teaching sites · based in a rural community

A car is required

After residency in Saskatchewan: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Outreach prenatal and primary care clinics in several First Nations and remote communities around Meadow Lake.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Local ESS and FPA physicians use the hospital OR heavily, including endoscopy 2-3 days a week.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Visiting surgeons and a gynecologist run local OR cases, and residents have the opportunity to assist.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 2-year rural Family Medicine program based in Meadow Lake, northern Saskatchewan, with 2 residents each year.
  • Training is a longitudinal residency covering primary care, walk-in, addictions, psychiatry, gender affirming care, internal medicine and prenatal care, with one-week hospitalist rotations.
  • Call is done through 12-hour emergency shifts plus obstetrical home call, and longer remote rotations in Île-à-la-Crosse are optional.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Northern
  • Indigenous health
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Enhanced skills
  • Obstetrical Surgical Skills
  • Anesthesia
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Orientation (R1 and R2 · 1 week)
  • longitudinal residency (R1 and R2)
  • hospitalist rotations (R1 and R2 · One week)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

North West (Meadow Lake), Saskatchewan: 3 teaching sites; based in a rural community. A car is required.

  • Meadow Lake (Meadow Lake)
  • North Battleford (North Battleford)
  • Île-à-la-Crosse (Île-à-la-Crosse · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 1 of 3; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

North Battleford

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Meadow Lake

  • People

    5,322residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Meadow Lake

  • Housing

    not published for this area

  • Winter and summer

    −16.8 °CJanuary mean16.8 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Meadow Lake, 5.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Meadow Lake (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20, 21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house and home call
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

After residency

Family doctors in Saskatchewan can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Transitional Payment Model (TPM). Panel sizes set by activity level are used for physicians in their first two years of practice. To join: a minimum of 250 matched patients. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officenorthwest.fm.pgme@usask.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to North West (Meadow Lake) - Rural

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 37161 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?