Skip to content
CdnMD

North East (Melfort) Rural - Family Medicine

University of SaskatchewanNorth East (Melfort) Rural, SaskatchewanCompetitive streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
26–50%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027virtual

North East (Melfort) Rural, 1 teaching site · based in a rural community

A car is required

After residency in Saskatchewan: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Small rural cohort: two residents per home base across Humboldt, Melfort and Nipawin.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year University of Saskatchewan Family Medicine program is based in Melfort, a rural community in the North East site.
  • Residents spend 32 weeks of R1 and 27 weeks of R2 in Family Medicine, plus a 4-6 week remote/underserviced FM rotation.
  • Accommodations are provided for mandatory rotations away from the home base, and residents must have a vehicle.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Procedural emphasis
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Family Medicine32 weeks
  • Electives6 weeks
  • Obstetrics4 weeks
  • Psychiatry3 weeks
  • Anesthesia2 weeks
  • General Surgery2 weeks
  • Orientation1 week
  • Consolidation Week1 week
  • Seasonal Slowdown1 week
PGY-2
  • Family Medicine27 weeks
  • FM Remote / Underserviced4-6 weeks
  • Electives6 weeks
  • Obstetrics Tertiary / Regional4 weeks
  • Hospitalist / Internal Medicine4 weeks
  • Pediatrics ER2 weeks
  • Exam Week1 week
  • Consolidation Week1 week
  • Seasonal Slowdown1 week

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

North East (Melfort) Rural, Saskatchewan: 1 teaching site; based in a rural community. A car is required.

  • North East Family Medicine Residency Program - Melfort (Melfort)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 1 of 1.

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Melfort

  • People

    5,955residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Melfort

  • Housing

    not published for this area

  • Winter and summer

    −16.6 °CJanuary mean17.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Melfort, 4.7 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Melfort (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20, 21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

After residency

Family doctors in Saskatchewan can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Transitional Payment Model (TPM). Panel sizes set by activity level are used for physicians in their first two years of practice. To join: a minimum of 250 matched patients. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 1 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: North East - Rural.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
202300
202400
202500
20265 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Contacts and links

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Interim Program Administrator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to North East (Melfort) Rural

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36944 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?