Skip to content
CdnMD

Prince Albert - Family Medicine - Enhanced Surgical Skills

University of SaskatchewanPrince Albert, SaskatchewanCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 7 Nov 2026virtual

Prince Albert, 2 teaching sites · required rural rotation

Also at USask, applied for at the school: Rural and Regional Physician Enhancement Training, on USask’s page of programs applied for at the school · A third year of training; physicians’ funding prorated to program length · residents and practising physicians · no dates published (as of 10 Oct 2026)

Not through CaRMS: you apply to USask, on its own dates. Confirm on the school’s page before you apply.

What stands out about this program

  • Alternating two-to-three-month surgery and obstetrics rotations after a short initial block in both services.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Opportunity to accompany consultants to La Ronge and Nipawin for consultation and procedural day clinics.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This 1-year program trains family physicians in enhanced general surgical and obstetrical skills to provide surgical care in low-resource environments.
  • Completion leads to eligibility for a Certificate of Added Competence in Enhanced Surgical Skills.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Training language
English

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Obstetrics / Gynecology (25 weeks · Prince Albert)
  • General Surgery (25 weeks · Prince Albert)
  • ESS Rural Elective (1-2 weeks · Rural community with practicing ESS physician)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Prince Albert, Saskatchewan: 2 teaching sites; required rural rotation.

  • Victoria Hospital
  • Co-operative Health Center

Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 1 of 2; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Victoria Hospital

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Prince Albert

  • People

    37,756residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Prince Albert

  • Housing

    5.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Prince Albert, Saskatchewan (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −17.2 °CJanuary mean17.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Prince Albert, 4.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Prince Albert (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
7 Nov 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel
  • MMI or rotating station

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$80,700 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Aimee Seguin

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Obstetrics & Gynecology Coordinator, General Surgery Coordinator, Enhanced Skills Coordinator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine - Enhanced Surgical Skills elsewhere

Nearest to Prince Albert

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 17 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34579 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?