Skip to content
CdnMD

Ottawa - Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine

University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Ottawa, 7 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Varsity sport coverage at two universities: University of Ottawa and Carleton University.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Two 10-station OSCEs with standardized patients each year to prepare for the CASEM exam.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Training across more than five different primary care sport medicine clinics.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a one-year Sport and Exercise Medicine training program at the University of Ottawa, with training at various sites across Ottawa.
  • It uses block-based rotations, including primary care sport medicine clinics, rheumatology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, orthopaedics, and an MSK-emergency block.
  • Residents act as team physician for two varsity teams, complete a scholarly project, and are expected to sit the CASEM Diploma examination.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Carleton University Sport Medicine Clinic (8 weeks · Carleton University Sport Medicine Clinic)
  • University of Ottawa Sport Medicine Clinic (4 weeks · University of Ottawa Sport Medicine Clinic)
  • MedSport Ottawa Clinic (4 weeks · MedSport Ottawa Clinic)
  • Community Sport Medicine (4 weeks · PhysioSport Plus / Active Care)
  • Optimize Physiotherapy & Sports Medicine Clinic (4 weeks · Optimize Physiotherapy & Sports Medicine Clinic)
  • Rheumatology (4 weeks)
  • Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (4 weeks)
  • MSK - Emergency Medicine (4 weeks)
  • Orthopaedic Surgery or horizontal Orthopaedic clinics + longitudinal plastics clinic (4 weeks)
  • Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery (4 weeks)
  • MSK radiology (2 weeks)
  • Plastics Hand Clinics (2 weeks)
  • elective (including the option of International opportunities) (4 weeks)
  • vacation (4 weeks)
  • Longitudinal Acute Injuries Clinic
  • Longitudinal Exercise Medicine and Allied Health Selective

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Ottawa, Ontario: 7 teaching sites.

  • Carleton University Sport Medicine Clinic
  • University of Ottawa Sport Medicine Clinic
  • MedSport Ottawa Clinic
  • PhysioSport Plus / Active Care
  • Optimize Physiotherapy & Sports Medicine Clinic
  • The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus
  • The Ottawa Hospital General Campus

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 7; no published record for 5.

Hospital facts

2 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus, The Ottawa Hospital General Campus.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Ottawa

  • People

    1,017,449residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Ottawa

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Ottawa-Gatineau, Ontario part, Ontario/Quebec (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ottawa (City), 5.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Ottawa (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Lindsay Bradley

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeesfpdfm@uottawa.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Ottawa

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 27 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34604 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?