Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine

University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 22 Jan 2027virtual

Toronto, 6 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Describes itself as Canada's largest PHPM residency, training 10-15 residents at a time.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year Public Health and Preventive Medicine residency at the University of Toronto's Dalla Lana School of Public Health.
  • Residents complete 24 months of family medicine training, then most complete an MPH or equivalent in PGY-3.
  • Field rotations take place at affiliated public health units and provincial sites, and all residents complete an academic project during PGY3-5.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Public health agency
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project

By year

PGY-3
  • Academic Training

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Family Medicine Training (24 months)
  • Public Health Systems and Practice
  • Communicable Disease Control
  • Environmental Health
  • Health Policy, Systems, Evaluation and Planning
  • Chronic Disease, Health Promotion and Injury Prevention
  • Leadership, Management and Consolidation

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Toronto, Ontario: 6 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Toronto Public Health
  • Peel Public Health
  • Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit
  • Durham Region Health Department
  • Public Health Ontario
  • Chief Medical Officer of Health Office at the Ontario Ministry of Health

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 6 of 6.

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Toronto

  • People

    2,794,356residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Toronto

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Toronto (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

3 Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream35 years1 date, 22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream35 years1 date, 23 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Toronto's Public Health and Preventive Medicine (PHPM) residency is the largest program of its kind in Canada, offering comprehensive training to prepare specialists who can assess and manage population health issues.
  • The 5-year program combines family medicine training, academic coursework, and extensive public health field rotations to develop versatile public health professionals.
Research
Residents are expected to complete an academic project during PGY3-5 and can engage in additional research electives with faculty.
Training setting
Training occurs across urban, suburban, and rural public health units in Ontario, including Toronto Public Health, Peel Public Health, and provincial sites like Public Health Ontario.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, focusing on evidence-informed, community-responsive, and ethical decision-making in public health.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance
  • Elective experiences

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Public Health and Preventive Medicine including Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Toronto

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 11 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36377 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?