Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - Psychiatry - Research Track

University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Thu 19 Nov 2026,2:00 pm EDT

Interviews

2 dates, 4–5 Feb 2027virtual

Toronto, teaching sites not stated on CaRMS page

What stands out about this program

  • Research-focused electives occupy most of the PGY5 year.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Departmental funds can pay tuition for a thesis-based graduate degree during residency.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Applicants must have at least one research elective and one academic publication.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year psychiatry Clinician-Researcher Track (CResT) at the University of Toronto, with core rotations at affiliated hospitals in the Greater Toronto Area.
  • The track provides multi-month blocks of protected research time plus longitudinal protected research days from PGY2-5, with research-focused electives for most of PGY5.
  • Applicants need at least one research elective and one academic publication, and interviews are held virtually.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • psychiatry5 blocks
  • general internal medicine2 blocks
  • cognitive neurology1 block
  • emergency medicine1 block
  • palliative care1 block
  • neurology1 block
  • family medicine or pediatrics1 block
  • Personalized Learning Experience (PLEX)one block
  • Ground School
  • Half-day Outpatient Psychiatry Experience

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Toronto, Ontario: teaching sites not stated on the CaRMS page.

About Toronto

  • People

    2,794,356residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Toronto

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Toronto (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
4 and 5 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years2 dates, 4–5 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG streamResearch Track - Psychiatry25 years2 dates, 5–6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Toronto's Clinician-Researcher Track (CResT) offers a unique psychiatry residency program that integrates research training with clinical education.
  • Designed for aspiring clinician-scientists, the program provides protected research time, mentorship, and opportunities to pursue graduate degrees while completing comprehensive psychiatric training.
Research
Extensive research opportunities with protected time, funding, conference support, and potential graduate degree pursuits across basic, translational, clinical, and public health research domains.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple hospitals in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA), with core rotations at fully affiliated hospitals and opportunities for elective experiences across various clinical settings.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focused on workplace-based learning, personalized learning plans, coaching, and progressive skill development through staged developmental phases.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Research experience
  • Academic publications
  • Personal letter
  • Interview performance
  • Research aptitude assessment

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Adrienne Tan

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Psychiatry - Research Track elsewhere

Nearest to Toronto

  • Vancouver - Psychiatry - Research TrackUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver, BC · 3,359 km

    2 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 30 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35452 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?