Toronto - Pediatrics - Clinician Scientist and Investigator Training Program
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 4
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 1 Feb 2027
Toronto, 13 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
What stands out about this program
About 12 months of research time built into the 4-year paediatrics residency
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Applicants must already hold a PhD or equivalent plus an MD
From “Important information” on the CaRMS page
Takes one trainee per year, with individualized research mentorship
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- C-SIP is a clinician-scientist stream of the University of Toronto's 4-year paediatrics residency, for candidates who already hold a PhD or equivalent.
- It takes one trainee per year, who gets a tailored schedule with about 12 months of research time.
- Training is mostly at The Hospital for Sick Children, with community affiliates, and night float covers call in PGY2.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
By year
- PGY-1
- Adolescent Medicine
- Care of the Newborn
- Community Paediatrics
- Paediatric Emergency
- Paediatric Infectious Disease
- Immunology and Allergy/Dermatology
- Paediatric In-Patient
- Paediatric General Surgery
- Paediatric Urology
- Research
- PGY-2
- electivefour week
- selective or research blocks2 two-week
- paediatric cardiology
- developmental paediatrics
- endocrinology
- gastroenterology/clinical nutrition
- oncology
- nephrology
- neurology
- respirology
- rheumatology
- neonatal intensive care
- PGY-3
- electivefour week
- selective/research blockstwo 2-week
- general paediatric unit
- emergency room medicine
- neonatal-perinatal medicine (Level III)
- neonatal medicine (Level II - community)
- genetics-metabolics
- suspected child abuse and neglect
- mental health
- ambulatory experience
- paediatric intensive care unit
- PGY-4
- TTP curriculumapproximately 9 blocks
Where you train
Toronto, Ontario: 13 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)
- Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation
- Michael Garron Hospital
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- North York General Hospital
- Orillia Soldier's Memorial Hospital (Orillia · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Victoria Regional Health (rural or distributed site)
- Owen Sound Regional Hospital (Owen Sound · rural or distributed site)
- Centre for Addiction and Mental Health - CAMH
- St. Joseph's Hospital
- St. Michael's Hospital
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Show all 13 sitesShow fewer
- SickKids Center for Community Mental Health
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 13, MEDITECH at 1, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 5; no published record for 4.
Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027). Mount Sinai Hospital.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Mount Sinai Hospital
- Clinical record
- Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system
North York General Hospital
- Clinical record
- Oracle Health Foundation, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Show facts for 4 more sitesShow fewer
Royal Victoria Regional Health
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse (CARE4 shared record), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
St. Joseph's Hospital
- Clinical record
- Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
St. Michael's Hospital
- Clinical record
- Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- Clinical record
- Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Toronto
People
2,794,356residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.0%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 1 Feb 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- In-house call · night float
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 4 years | 1 date, 1 Feb 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 1 date, 28 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Toronto's Clinician Scientist and Investigator Training in Paediatrics (C-SIP) Program is a highly competitive, unique pathway for MD/PhD candidates pursuing a clinician-scientist career.
- The program provides an individually tailored residency with approximately 12 months of dedicated research time, personalized mentorship, and comprehensive training in pediatric medicine and scientific investigation.
- Research
- Mandatory scholarly project completion, two weeks of protected research time in first year, additional research time in subsequent years, and comprehensive research mentorship.
- Training setting
- Urban academic medical center with multiple hospital sites in Toronto, including The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids), community hospitals, and rural health centers. Diverse training environments spanning tertiary, secondary, and community pediatric settings.
- Teaching approach
- Competence By Design (CBD) curriculum emphasizing progressive independence, evidence-based medicine, critical appraisal, and holistic development across CanMEDS roles with a focus on scholarship, leadership, and diversity.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV review
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- Research/scholarly activities
- Mini Personal Interviews (MPI)
- Leadership skills assessment
- Communication skills evaluation
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Kevin Weingarten
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Pediatrics - Clinician Scientist and Investigator Training Program elsewhere
Did this page answer your question?