Skip to content
CdnMD

Winnipeg - Pediatrics

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, Manitoba

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
9 positions
1 position
Length
4 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

5 dates, 18–22 Jan 2027virtual

Winnipeg, 4 teaching sites · 6 rural weeks

What stands out about this program

  • Required group health advocacy project, recognized by the Royal College as a Top 5 What Works.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Optional northern/remote continuity clinic stream with repeated visits to the same remote community.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Longitudinal Pediatric Indigenous Health curriculum built with Indigenous leaders in medical education.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 4-year pediatrics residency based at the Children's Hospital of Winnipeg, part of the Health Sciences Centre.
  • Residents complete at least six weeks of rural pediatrics, with two weeks in Brandon and four weeks in Thompson, Manitoba.
  • Each resident must complete a scholarly project, and senior call is mainly covered through night float rotations.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (6 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Indigenous health
  • Rural / remote
  • Northern
  • Procedural emphasis
  • Early independence
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Orientation Block (Transition to Discipline)
  • CTU Pediatrics as a Junior Resident (Transition to Discipline)
  • Neonatology (Transition to Discipline)
  • Emergency Pediatrics (Transition to Discipline)
  • Community-Based Pediatrics - urban (Transition to Discipline)
  • Social Ambulatory-Based Pediatrics (Transition to Discipline)
  • Selective (Allergy, Cardiology, Endocrinology, Infectious Disease, Gastroenterology) (Transition to Discipline)
  • Junior Call (Transition to Discipline)
  • CTU as Junior Resident (Foundations)
  • CTU as Transition to Senior Resident (Foundations)
  • Neonatology (Foundations)
  • Emergency Pediatrics (Foundations)
  • Community-Based Pediatrics - Urban (Foundations)
  • Social Ambulatory-Based Pediatrics (Foundations)
  • Academic Skills Rotation (Foundations · 2 week)
  • Hematology/Oncology (Foundations)
  • Selective (Allergy, Cardiology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Genetics and Metabolics, Infectious Disease, Respirology) (Foundations)
  • Elective (Foundations)
  • Night Float (Foundations · 2 week)
  • Junior Call (Foundations)
  • CTU Pediatrics as the Senior Resident (Core · 16 weeks total in Core)
  • Neonatology (Core · 8 weeks total in Core)
  • Pediatric Intensive Care (Core · 8 weeks total in Core)
  • Community-Based Pediatrics - Rural (Core · Brandon and Thompson Manitoba)
  • Social Ambulatory-Based Pediatrics (Core)
  • Emergency Pediatrics (Core · 8 weeks total in Core)
  • Adolescent Medicine and Child Psychiatry (Core)
  • Developmental Pediatrics (Core)
  • Child Maltreatment Pediatrics (Core)
  • Selective (Allergy, Cardiology, Complex Care, Endocrinology, Hematology and Oncology, Gastroenterology, Genetics and Metabolics, Infectious Disease, Nephrology, Neurology, Palliative Care, Respirology, Rheumatology) (Core)
  • Continuity Clinic (Core)
  • Elective (Core · 12 weeks total in Core)
  • Night Float (Core · 8 weeks total in Core)
  • Senior Call (Core)
  • CTU Pediatrics Junior Attending (Transition To Practice)
  • Inpatient Complex Care (Transition To Practice)
  • Developmental Pediatrics (Transition To Practice)
  • Neonatology (Transition To Practice)
  • Community-Based Pediatrics (Transition To Practice)
  • Continuity Clinic (Transition To Practice)
  • Electives (Transition To Practice)
  • Senior Call (Transition To Practice)

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • CTU Pediatrics as a Junior Resident (Transition to Discipline)
  • Emergency Pediatrics (Transition to Discipline)
  • Community-Based Pediatrics - urban (Transition to Discipline)
  • Social Ambulatory-Based Pediatrics (Transition to Discipline)
  • Selective (Allergy, Endocrinology, Infectious Disease, Gastroenterology) (Transition to Discipline)
  • Junior Call (Transition to Discipline)
  • CTU as Junior Resident (Foundations)
  • CTU as Transition to Senior Resident (Foundations)
  • Neonatology (Foundations)
  • Emergency Pediatrics (Foundations)
  • Community-Based Pediatrics - Urban (Foundations)
  • Social Ambulatory-Based Pediatrics (Foundations)
  • Academic Skills Rotation (Foundations · 2 week)
  • Hematology/Oncology (Foundations)
  • Selective (Allergy, Cardiology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Genetics and Metabolics, Infectious Disease, Respirology) (Foundations)
  • Elective (Foundations)
  • Night Float (Foundations · 2 week)
  • Junior Call (Foundations)
  • CTU Pediatrics as the Senior Resident (Core · 16 weeks total in Core)
  • Neonatology (Core · 8 weeks total in Core)
  • Pediatric Intensive Care (Core · 8 weeks total in Core)
  • Community-Based Pediatrics - Rural (Core · Brandon and Thompson Manitoba)
  • Social Ambulatory-Based Pediatrics (Core)
  • Emergency Pediatrics (Core · 8 weeks total in Core)
  • Adolescent Medicine and Child Psychiatry (Core)
  • Developmental Pediatrics (Core)
  • Child Maltreatment and Child Psychiatry (Core)
  • Selective (Allergy, Cardiology, Complex Care, Endocrinology, Hematology and Oncology, Gastroenterology, Genetics and Metabolics, Infectious Disease, Nephrology, Neurology, Palliative Care, Respirology, Rheumatology) (Core)
  • Continuity Clinic (Core)
  • Elective (Core · 12 weeks total in Core)
  • Night Float (Core · 8 weeks total in Core)
  • Senior Call (Core)
  • CTU Pediatrics Junior Attending (Transition To Practice)
  • Inpatient Complex Care (Transition To Practice)
  • Developmental Pediatrics (Transition To Practice)
  • Neonatology (Transition To Practice)
  • Community-Based Pediatrics (Transition To Practice)
  • Continuity Clinic (Transition To Practice)
  • Electives (Transition To Practice)
  • Senior Call (Transition To Practice)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Winnipeg, Manitoba: 4 teaching sites; 6 rural weeks.

  • Children's Hospital of Winnipeg
  • St. Boniface General Hospital
  • Brandon General Hospital (Brandon · rural or distributed site)
  • Thompson General Hospital (Thompson · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 4 of 4.

Moving to a new system: Children's Hospital of Winnipeg; St. Boniface General Hospital; Brandon General Hospital; Thompson General Hospital (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Children's Hospital of Winnipeg, St. Boniface General Hospital, Brandon General Hospital, Thompson General Hospital.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Winnipeg

  • People

    749,607residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Winnipeg

  • Housing

    2.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Winnipeg (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
18, 19, 20, 21 and 22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 4 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year
PGY-3
$83,372 / year
PGY-4
$89,329 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Winnipeg.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
202300
202400
20254 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20263 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream94 years5 dates, 18–22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream14 years5 dates, 18–22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream95 years5 dates, 2–6 Feb 2026
IMG stream15 years5 dates, 2–6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba Pediatrics Residency Program offers a comprehensive 4-year training experience in Pediatrics, focusing on developing competent pediatricians capable of managing medically and socially complex children and adolescents.
  • The program emphasizes patient-centered care, social determinants of health, and advocacy across diverse populations including urban, rural, immigrant, refugee, Aboriginal, and Inuit communities.
Research
Residents must complete a scholarly project, with dedicated research time, mentorship from research committee, and potential funding from Children's Hospital Foundation.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily at Children's Hospital of Winnipeg, a 127-bed facility treating over 130,000 children annually, with additional sites in Winnipeg, Brandon, Thompson, and remote northern communities in Manitoba and Nunavut.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with a focus on progressive skill development, interactive small group learning, and comprehensive training across all CanMEDS competencies.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • CV/Résumé
  • Work place based assessments
  • Rotation evaluations
  • Mock OSCEs
  • Canadian in-training exams

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Program Coordinator

Write to the officepgme_peds@hsc.mb.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Program websiteWebsiteCANPREPPCANPREPPdescribes academic half-dayFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Pediatrics elsewhere

Nearest to Winnipeg

  • Regina - PediatricsUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Regina, SK · 536 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Thunder Bay, ON · 598 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Saskatoon - PediatricsUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon, SK · 711 km

    6 positions · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 3 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 3 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35331 (CMG stream), 35682 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream