Skip to content
CdnMD

Northern Remote - Family Medicine

University of ManitobaNorthern Remote, Manitoba

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
7 positions−2 from 9 in the 2026 match
5 positions+1 from 4 in the 2026 match
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirement: Recent clinical experience (within 10 years) details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–8:30 pm CST

Interviews

3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel

Northern Remote, 24 teaching sites19 teaching sites · required rural rotation

A car is required

After residency in Manitoba: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Rotations in Inuit communities in Nunavut, such as Rankin Inlet or Iqaluit.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents fly into First Nations nursing-station communities with Ongomiizwin Health Services preceptors.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • A northern food stipend is paid for every day spent in the north.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year Family Medicine stream trains mostly in Winnipeg in the first year and mostly at remote and northern sites in the second year.
  • The first-year home clinic is the Northern Connection Medical Centre, which focuses on underserved populations; up to three residents can choose a northern first-year option with Island Lake fly-in communities.
  • Northern exposure ranges from 6 to 10 blocks across Manitoba, Nunavut and occasionally the Northwest Territories, and the program covers travel and accommodation.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Indigenous health
  • Rural / remote
  • Northern
  • Underserved urban
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Procedural emphasis
Research
Offered · research project
Enhanced skills
  • Addiction Medicine
  • Anesthesia
  • Other
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Obstetrical Surgical Skills
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • HIV/Hepatitis C careNine Circles Community Health Centretwo-week
  • Children’s Emergencyone rotation
  • Family MedicineNorthern Connection Medical Centre (NCMC) in Winnipeg
  • Adult Emergencyone of the tertiary hospitals in Winnipeg, or Thompson
PGY-2
  • small, First Nations communitiesapproximately 4 weeks
  • family medicine in your home clinicNCMCa block
  • selectiveSelkirk, Grace or St Boniface hospitals, or Seven Oaks Hospital2-week
  • Family Medicinenorthern or remote sites

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • neonatology (2 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • sports medicine (2 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • orthopedics (2 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • addiction medicine (2 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • in-patient pediatrics (2 weeks · Children’s Hospital in Winnipeg)
  • out-patient pediatrics (2 weeks · Children’s Hospital in Winnipeg)
  • psychiatry (2 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • ICU (4 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • trauma surgery (4 weeks · Acute Trauma Surgery Unit at the Health Sciences Centre)
  • OBSTETRICS EXPERIENCE (two months · Winnipeg at a tertiary care hospital, or one month in Winnipeg and a second month in Thompson)
PGY-1
  • HIV/Hepatitis C careNine Circles Community Health Centretwo-week
  • Children’s Emergencyone rotation
  • Family MedicineNorthern Connection Medical Centre (NCMC) in Winnipeg
  • Adult Emergencyone of the tertiary hospitals in Winnipeg
PGY-2
  • small, First Nations communitiesapproximately 4 weeks
  • family medicine in your home clinicNCMCa block
  • selective2-week
  • Family Medicinenorthern or remote sites

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • neonatology (2 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • sports medicine (2 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • orthopedics (2 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • addiction medicine (2 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • in-patient pediatrics (2 weeks · Children’s Hospital in Winnipeg)
  • out-patient pediatrics (2 weeks · Children’s Hospital in Winnipeg)
  • psychiatry (2 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • ICU (4 weeks · Winnipeg)
  • trauma surgery (4 weeks · Acute Trauma Surgery Unit at the Health Sciences Centre)
  • Obstetrics (two months · Winnipeg)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Northern Remote, Manitoba: 24 teaching sites19 teaching sites; required rural rotation. A car is required.

  • Northern Connection Medical Centre (NCMC) (Winnipeg)
  • Seven Oaks Hospital (Winnipeg)
  • Nine Circles Community Health Centre (Winnipeg)
  • Health Sciences Centre (Winnipeg)
  • Children’s Hospital (Winnipeg)
  • Grace (Winnipeg)
  • St Boniface (Winnipeg)
  • Selkirk (Selkirk)
  • Red Sucker Lake (Red Sucker Lake · rural or distributed site)
  • Garden Hill (Garden Hill · rural or distributed site)
  • St. Theresa Point (St. Theresa Point · rural or distributed site)
  • Wasagamack (Wasagamack · rural or distributed site)
Show all 24 sites
  • Chemawawin (Easterville) (Easterville · rural or distributed site)
  • Churchill Health Centre (Churchill · rural or distributed site)
  • Flin Flon (Flin Flon · rural or distributed site)
  • the Pas (The Pas · rural or distributed site)
  • Thompson (Thompson · rural or distributed site)
  • Swan River (Swan River · rural or distributed site)
  • Norway House Hospital (Norway House · rural or distributed site)
  • Percy E. Moore Hospital (Hodgson · rural or distributed site)
  • Yellowknife (Yellowknife · rural or distributed site)
  • Iqaluit (Iqaluit · rural or distributed site)
  • Rankin Inlet (Rankin Inlet · rural or distributed site)
  • Cross Lake (Cross Lake · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

  • Northern Connection Medical Centre (NCMC) (Winnipeg)
  • Seven Oaks Hospital (Winnipeg)
  • Nine Circles Community Health Centre (Winnipeg)
  • Children’s Hospital (Winnipeg)
  • Health Sciences Centre (Winnipeg)
  • Grace (Winnipeg)
  • St Boniface (Winnipeg)
  • Island Lakes Fly-in communities (rural or distributed site)
  • Churchill Health Centre (Churchill · rural or distributed site)
  • Flin Flon (Flin Flon · rural or distributed site)
  • the Pas (The Pas · rural or distributed site)
  • Thompson (Thompson · rural or distributed site)
Show all 19 sites
  • Swan River (Swan River · rural or distributed site)
  • Norway House Hospital (Norway House · rural or distributed site)
  • Percy E. Moore Hospital (Hodgson · rural or distributed site)
  • Yellowknife (Yellowknife · rural or distributed site)
  • Iqaluit (Iqaluit · rural or distributed site)
  • Rankin Inlet (Rankin Inlet · rural or distributed site)
  • Selkirk (Selkirk)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Altera at 12 of 25; no published record for 13.

Moving to a new system: Seven Oaks Hospital; Health Sciences Centre; Children’s Hospital; Grace; Selkirk; Garden Hill; St. Theresa Point; Wasagamack; Flin Flon; Thompson; Norway House Hospital; Percy E. Moore Hospital (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

12 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Seven Oaks Hospital, Health Sciences Centre, Children’s Hospital, Grace, Selkirk, Garden Hill, St. Theresa Point, Wasagamack, Flin Flon, Thompson, Norway House Hospital, Percy E. Moore Hospital.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 10 years)

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Manitoba can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Family Medicine Plus (FM+) tariffs. No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. To join: a registered Home Clinic, enrolled patients, Most Responsible Provider. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 7 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Northern Remote.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream72 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel
  • Positions 9 → 7 from the 2026 match
IMG stream52 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel
  • Positions 4 → 5 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream92 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
IMG stream42 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba's Northern Remote Family Medicine residency program offers a comprehensive two-year training experience focused on providing medical care in remote and northern settings.
  • Residents will gain extensive experience in diverse clinical environments, from inner-city clinics to remote First Nations and Inuit communities, preparing them to practice family medicine in challenging and underserved areas.
Research
The program provides workshops and supports the development of research skills for all Family Medicine residents.
Training setting
Training occurs in diverse settings including urban Winnipeg clinics, northern Manitoba communities, Nunavut, and Northwest Territories, with rotations in hospitals, nursing stations, and remote fly-in communities.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, cultural safety, and preparing physicians to provide comprehensive care in diverse and challenging environments.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • FMProC
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Research/Publications

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Leah PetersPostgraduate Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Postgraduate Program Coordinator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Northern Remote

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 4 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 4 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36400 (CMG stream), 36149 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream