Skip to content
CdnMD

Winnipeg - Family Medicine integrated Clinician Scholar

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, Manitoba

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position per streamListed on each stream; not added up
Length
3 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
0–25%

Competitive stream, CMG eligible · open to Canadian medical graduates

Competitive stream, IMG eligible · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirement: Recent clinical experience (within 10 years) details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–8:30 pm CST

Interviews

3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel

Winnipeg, 9 teaching sites10 teaching sites

A car is required

After residency in Manitoba: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Twelve months of dedicated Clinician Scholar training within a three-year family medicine residency.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Didactic research training delivered with the Royal College-certified Clinical Investigator Program.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 3-year Family Medicine Clinician Scholar program combining 24 months of family medicine training with 12 months of Clinician Scholar training.
  • Residents are attached to one of four urban teaching units in Winnipeg and paired with a Clinician Scholar supervisor.
  • Residents complete a research or QI project, with didactic teaching delivered with the Clinical Investigator Program.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Urban community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Enhanced skills
  • Addiction Medicine
  • Anesthesia
  • Other
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Obstetrical Surgical Skills
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Family Medicine Block Time (FMBT)5 months

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • selective and elective time (22 weeks)
  • Clinician Scholar training (12 months)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Winnipeg, Manitoba: 9 teaching sites10 teaching sites. A car is required.

  • Kildonan Medical Centre
  • Seven Oaks General Hospital
  • Access River East
  • Concordia Hospital
  • Access Fort Garry
  • Access Winnipeg West
  • Grace Hospital
  • Deer Lodge Centre
  • Children's Hospital
  • Kildonan Medical Centre
  • Seven Oaks General Hospital
  • Access River East
  • Concordia Hospital
  • Access Fort Garry
  • Access Winnipeg West
  • Grace Hospital
  • Deer Lodge Centre
  • Winnipeg's Children's Hospital
  • Health Sciences Centre

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Altera at 5 of 11; no published record for 6.

Moving to a new system: Seven Oaks General Hospital; Concordia Hospital; Grace Hospital; Children's Hospital; Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Seven Oaks General Hospital, Concordia Hospital, Grace Hospital, Children's Hospital.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Winnipeg

  • People

    749,607residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Winnipeg

  • Housing

    2.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Winnipeg (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 10 years)

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 3 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year
PGY-3
$83,372 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

After residency

Family doctors in Manitoba can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Family Medicine Plus (FM+) tariffs. No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. To join: a registered Home Clinic, enrolled patients, Most Responsible Provider. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 5 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Winnipeg.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
20221 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20231 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20241 position open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20251 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20261 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Competitive stream, CMG eligible13 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: websites, contacts (noticed 13 Oct)
Competitive stream, IMG eligible13 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Panel
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: websites, contacts (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream13 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
IMG stream13 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the Competitive stream, CMG eligible: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba's Family Medicine Integrated Clinician Scholar program is a comprehensive 3-year residency that prepares well-rounded family physicians with a focus on scholarship and research.
  • The program offers diverse training experiences across urban and community settings, emphasizing interprofessional collaboration and providing opportunities for residents to develop advanced clinical and research skills.
Research
Residents complete a research or quality improvement project, with dedicated curriculum and support through the Clinician Scholar Program and University of Manitoba's Clinical Investigator Program.
Training setting
Urban training sites in Winnipeg, including four primary care teaching units: Kildonan Medical Centre, Access River East, Access Fort Garry, and Access Winnipeg West. Training occurs in community clinics, tertiary hospitals, and various healthcare settings.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with a focus on whole-person medicine, patient-centered care, and progressive independence. The program emphasizes scholarly activities, interprofessional collaboration, and developing comprehensive family physicians.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC assessment
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • CV/Resume
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Leah PetersPostgraduate Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Postgraduate Program Coordinator

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine integrated Clinician Scholar elsewhere

Source

The Competitive stream, CMG eligible’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 14 Oct 2026 · The Competitive stream, IMG eligible’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 14 Oct 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 37267 (Competitive stream, CMG eligible), 37268 (Competitive stream, IMG eligible) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Competitive stream, CMG eligible and Competitive stream, IMG eligible: Websites of interest: 2 added, 0 removed and 1 more. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Competitive stream, CMG eligible and Competitive stream, IMG eligible: Websites of interest: 2 added, 0 removed

    • Competitive stream, CMG eligible and Competitive stream, IMG eligible: Program contacts updated

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the Competitive stream, CMG eligibleCompetitive stream, IMG eligible · change stream