Skip to content
CdnMD

Winnipeg - Cardiac Surgery

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
6 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 17 Jan 2027virtual

Winnipeg, 2 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Transplant and pediatric cardiac surgery training at University of Alberta via an inter-university affiliation agreement.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Dedicated Thoracic Aortic Diseases Clinic.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Manitoba offers a 6-year cardiac surgery residency, with all surgery performed at St. Boniface Hospital.
  • Eight faculty surgeons perform about 1100 adult cardiac operations per year and run a 15-bed Cardiac Surgical Intensive Care Unit.
  • Cardiac transplantation and pediatric cardiac surgery training takes place at the University of Alberta in Edmonton.
  • Research is encouraged and done mainly during an academic enrichment year, and residents can choose to pursue an MSc or PhD.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Winnipeg, Manitoba: 2 teaching sites.

  • St. Boniface Hospital
  • University of Alberta (Edmonton)

Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 1 of 2; no published record for 1.

Moving to a new system: St. Boniface Hospital (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

St. Boniface Hospital

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Winnipeg

  • People

    749,607residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Winnipeg

  • Housing

    2.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Winnipeg (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
17 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

2 Cardiac Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 6 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year
PGY-3
$83,372 / year
PGY-4
$89,329 / year
PGY-5
$95,285 / year
PGY-6
$101,119 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream16 years1 date, 17 Jan 2027Virtual
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: interviews (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream16 years1 date, 24 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba offers a 6-year Cardiac Surgery residency program that provides comprehensive training in adult cardiac surgery.
  • The program focuses on developing skilled cardiac surgeons through a multi-disciplinary team approach, with training primarily conducted at St. Boniface Hospital.
Research
Residents are strongly encouraged to develop research interests, with options to obtain MSc or PhD, and financial support for conference attendance.
Training setting
Training primarily takes place at St. Boniface General Hospital in Winnipeg, Manitoba, with a dedicated 15-bed Cardiac Surgical Intensive Care Unit and an integrated Cardiac Sciences Program.
Teaching approach
Utilizes Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive learning, emphasizing multi-disciplinary team approach, self-directed learning, and continuous performance evaluation.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic standing
  • Research potential
  • Technical skills
  • Elective performance
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Ricky Muller Moran

    Faculty profile of Dr. Ricky Muller Moran(opens in a new tab)

    Biography

    He received his residency training in cardiac surgery at the University of Manitoba and completed an Advanced Adult Cardiac Surgery Fellowship at Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago, Illinois with a focus on transcatheter aortic valve replacement and aortic surgery.

    Source: umanitoba.ca · checked Oct 2026

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officecardiac.surg@umanitoba.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Cardiac Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Winnipeg

  • Edmonton - Cardiac SurgeryUniversity of Alberta

    Edmonton, AB · 1,194 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Calgary - Cardiac SurgeryUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary, AB · 1,203 km

    1 position · CMG

  • London - Cardiac SurgeryWestern University

    London, ON · 1,436 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 14 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35390 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Interviews: wording changed. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Interviews: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?