Skip to content
CdnMD

Québec - Vascular Surgery

Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position−1 from 2 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Tue 3 Nov 2026,7:00–8:00 pm ET

Interviews

1 date, 20 Jan 2027virtual

Québec, 4 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Training within an integrated vascular centre with 13 vascular internists and 6 angioradiologists.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year vascular surgery residency at Université Laval, based mainly at Hôpital St-François d'Assise in Québec.
  • Training takes place within the Centre des Maladies Vasculaires de Québec alongside vascular internists and angioradiologists.
  • Residents complete the Surgical Foundations program in parallel during their first two years.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Training language
French

By year

PGY-1
  • Chirurgie vasculaire3 périodes
  • Cardiologie1 période
  • Trauma/Soins aigus1 période
  • Angioradiologie1 période
  • Urgence1 période
  • Infectiologie1 période
  • Introduction à la chirurgie1 période
  • Stage de nuit1 période
  • Anesthésie-Réanimation1 période
  • Soins intensifs1 période
  • Laboratoire / Clinique vasculaire1 période
PGY-2
  • Chirurgie vasculaire4 périodes
  • Chirurgie générale2 périodes
  • Soins Intensifs2 périodes
  • Médecine vasculaire2 périodes
  • Laboratoire / Clinique vasculaire1 période
  • Angioradiologie1 période
  • Imagerie non-invasive1 période
PGY-3
  • Chirurgie vasculaire7 périodes
  • Stage vasculaire communautaire2 périodes
  • Option1 période
  • Laboratoire / Clinique vasculaire1 période
  • Angioradiologie2périodes
PGY-4
  • Chirurgie vasculaire7 périodes
  • Chirurgie cardiaque2 périodes
  • Angioradiologie2 périodes
  • Option1 période
  • Laboratoire / Clinique vasculaire1 période

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Chirurgie vasculaire (Cinquième et dernière année · 1 périodes)
  • Angioradiologie (Cinquième et dernière année · 1 période)
  • Laboratoire / Clinique vasculaire (Cinquième et dernière année · 1 période)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Québec, Quebec: 4 teaching sites.

  • Hôpital St-François d'Assise
  • Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
  • Hôpital de l'Enfant Jésus
  • Institut universitaire de cardiologie et pneumologie de Québec

Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 3 of 4; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

4 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hôpital St-François d'Assise, Hôtel-Dieu de Québec.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital St-François d'Assise

Matched to Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
Licensed beds
physical health 254

Hôtel-Dieu de Québec

Matched to L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
Licensed beds
physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63

Hôpital de l'Enfant Jésus

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
Licensed beds
physical health 335
Show facts for 1 more sites

Institut universitaire de cardiologie et pneumologie de Québec

Matched to Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
Licensed beds
physical health 338

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Québec

  • People

    549,459residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Québec

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −11.3 °CJanuary mean20.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Moderatefor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Québec (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream15 years1 date, 20 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 2 → 1 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamQuébec - Chirurgie vasculaire26 years1 date as the CaRMS page writes it
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université Laval Vascular Surgery Residency Program offers comprehensive training at the CHU de Québec, focusing on both open and endovascular surgical techniques.
  • The program provides multidisciplinary training across various vascular pathologies, emphasizing competency-based medical education and professional development.
Research
Encourages research involvement, with opportunities for research projects and scientific presentations throughout the training program.
Training setting
Urban academic medical center in Quebec City, primarily at Hôpital St-François d'Assise, with additional training sites including Hôtel-Dieu de Québec and Institut universitaire de cardiologie et pneumologie de Québec.
Teaching approach
Emphasizes progressive independence, competency-based learning, constructive feedback, and a growth mindset through daily interactions, case discussions, and structured theoretical and practical training.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic Performance
  • Medical Student Record (DREM)
  • Reference Letters
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Personal Letter
  • Interview Performance
  • Clinical Rotation Evaluations
  • 360-Degree Evaluation

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Pascal Rhéaume

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval, Agente de gestion des études

Write to the officeadmission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Vascular Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Québec

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35545 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?