Skip to content
CdnMD

Québec - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology

Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions+1 from 2 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
26–50%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · this stream

Interviews

2 dates, 25–26 Jan 2027virtual

Québec, 8 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Two formative Royal College-format exams (written and oral) each year from second year onward.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Daily one-on-one case review sessions with pathologists.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Large case volume: about 130,000 surgical pathology and 180,000 cytology cases a year.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year diagnostic and molecular pathology residency at Université Laval, based at the CHU de Québec hospitals and the IUCPQ.
  • Required away rotations include a 1-month forensic pathology rotation in Montréal and a 2-month general pathology rotation in Rimouski in third year.
  • All residents must take part in a research project, and combined M.Sc. or Ph.D. enrolment is encouraged.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Early independence
Research
Required · research project
Training language
French

By year

PGY-3
  • pathologie généraleCentre Hospitalier Régional de Rimouski2 mois

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • stage d’introduction à la pathologie (Progression vers la discipline · deux périodes)
  • partie clinique (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · cinq périodes)
  • stage en pathologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · deux périodes)
  • Transition vers la pratique (Transition vers la pratique · trois à six mois)
  • spécialité chirurgicale (Formation de base · Un (1) bloc)
  • médecine interne, incluant un stage clinique de nuit (Formation de base · Deux (2) blocs)
  • pédiatrie ou dans une surspécialité pédiatrique (Formation de base · Un (1) bloc)
  • spécialité oncologique (Formation de base · Un (1) bloc)
  • initiation à l'anatomo-pathologie (Formation de base · Deux (2) blocs)
  • pathologie générale (Formation de base · Un (1) blocs)
  • pathologie autopsie de l'adulte (Formation de base · Un (1) bloc)
  • pathologie chirurgicale et en pathologie autopsique de l'adulte (Anatomo-pathologie de base · Vingt-cinq (25) blocs)
  • pathologie moléculaire ou en cytogénétique (Anatomo-pathologie de base · Un (1) bloc)
  • pathologie médico-légale (Anatomo-pathologie de base · Un (1) bloc)
  • cytopathologie (Anatomo-pathologie de base · Quatre (4) blocs)
  • pathologie pédiatrique (Anatomo-pathologie de base · Deux (2) blocs)
  • neuropathologie (Anatomo-pathologie de base · Deux (2) blocs)
  • Formations facultatives (Formations facultatives · Douze (12) blocs)
  • pathologie judiciaire (1 mois · Laboratoire de Sciences Judiciaires et de Médecine Légale (LSJML))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Québec, Quebec: 8 teaching sites.

  • Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (HDQ)
  • Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (HSFA)
  • Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (CHUL)
  • Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (HSS)
  • Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (HEJ)
  • Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec (Hôpital Laval) (IUCPQ-HL)
  • Laboratoire de Sciences Judiciaires et de Médecine Légale (LSJML) (Montréal)
  • Centre Hospitalier Régional de Rimouski (Rimouski · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 5 of 8; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

7 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (HDQ), Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (HSFA), Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (CHUL), Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (HSS).

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (HDQ)

Matched to L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
Licensed beds
physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63

Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (HSFA)

Matched to Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
Licensed beds
physical health 254

Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (CHUL)

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Show facts for 4 more sites

Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (HSS)

Matched to Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
Licensed beds
physical health 111

Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (HEJ)

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
Licensed beds
physical health 335

Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec (Hôpital Laval) (IUCPQ-HL)

Matched to Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
Licensed beds
physical health 338

Centre Hospitalier Régional de Rimouski

Matched to Hôpital Régional de Rimouski (Rimouski) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,321 · 2026–2027: 12,663
Licensed beds
physical health 170 · psychiatry 34 · geriatrics 15 · neonatology 5

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Québec

  • People

    549,459residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Québec

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −11.3 °CJanuary mean20.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Québec (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not required · this stream
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

3 Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 3 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Quebec.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available1 position open after round 2 in 2018, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
20193 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)3 positions open after round 2 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
20201 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)1 position open after round 2 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
202100
202200
202300
202400
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream35 years2 dates, 25–26 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 2 → 3 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamQuébec - Pathologie diagnostique et moléculaire25 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université Laval Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program that prepares residents to become competent pathologists.
  • The program offers extensive exposure to a wide range of pathology subspecialties, with a focus on developing autonomous diagnostic skills and providing individualized training across various pathology domains.
Research
Residents are required to participate in a short or long-term research project, with encouragement for mixed residency/Master's or PhD programs.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple university hospitals in Quebec City, including the Centre Hospitalier Universitaire (CHU) de Québec, which comprises five university hospitals and the Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec.
Teaching approach
The program follows a Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) model with progressive independence, focusing on developing residents' clinical skills through structured stages: Progression towards the Discipline, Acquisition of Discipline Foundations, Mastery of Discipline, and Transition to Practice.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Letters of recommendation
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Personal letter
  • Medical school transcript
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval

Write to the officeadmission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology elsewhere

Nearest to Québec

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 1 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36164 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?