Skip to content
CdnMD

Calgary - Internal Medicine

University of CalgaryCalgary, Alberta

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
35 positions+5 from 30 in the 2026 match
8 positions+1 from 7 in the 2026 match
Length
3 years
Applications per year
401–600
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: not stated on the CaRMS page

IMG requirement: “We do not accept Visa sponsored trainees in our program.” details under How they choose

Interviews

4 dates, 20–28 Jan 2027virtual

2 dates, 20–27 Jan 2027virtual

Calgary, 6 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • A dedicated nocturnist program supports the Medical Teaching Units.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Simulation program accredited by the Royal College.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Parallel Indigenous Admissions Pathway with its own review committee for First Nations, Métis and Inuit applicants.

    From “Important information” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 3-year core Internal Medicine residency at the University of Calgary, with each year made up of thirteen 4-week blocks.
  • Residents rotate through four Calgary acute care sites, with Foothills Medical Centre as the primary academic centre.
  • Senior residents work night float shifts on the Medical Teaching Units, doing 12-hour call shifts instead of 26-hour shifts.
  • The program teaches point-of-care ultrasound through a Procedural Certification Program.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Offered · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • Medical Teaching Unit6 blocks
  • Selectives4 blocks
  • CCU1 block
  • Nephrology1 block
  • Geriatrics1 block
PGY-2
  • Medical Teaching Unit4 blocks
  • Selectives4 blocks
  • Elective2 blocks
  • CCU1 block
  • ICU1 block
PGY-3
  • Selectives8 blocks
  • Medical Teaching Unit2 blocks
  • CCU1 block
  • ICU1 block
  • Elective1 block
PGY-1
  • Medical Teaching Unit*6
  • CCU1
  • Nephrology1
  • Geriatrics1
  • Selectives4
PGY-2
  • Medical Teaching Unit*4
  • CCU1
  • ICU1
  • Selectives4
  • Elective2
PGY-3
  • Medical Teaching Unit*2
  • CCU1
  • ICU1
  • Selectives8
  • Elective1

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Calgary, Alberta: 6 teaching sites.

  • Foothills Medical Centre (FMC)
  • Peter Lougheed Centre
  • Rockyview General Hospital
  • South Health Campus
  • Arthur Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre
  • Richmond road Diagnostic and Treatment Centre

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 5 of 6; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Foothills Medical Centre (FMC), Peter Lougheed Centre, Rockyview General Hospital, South Health Campus, Richmond road Diagnostic and Treatment Centre.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Calgary

  • People

    1,306,784residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Calgary

  • Housing

    4.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Calgary, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Calgary (Airport), 9.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Calgary (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • “We do not accept Visa sponsored trainees in our program.”

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20, 21, 27 and 28 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
20 and 27 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

16 Internal Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 3 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream353 years4 dates, 20–28 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 30 → 35 from the 2026 match
IMG stream83 years2 dates, 20–27 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 7 → 8 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream305 years6 dates, 9–29 Jan 2026
IMG stream75 years4 dates, 9–28 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Calgary's Internal Medicine Residency Program offers a comprehensive 3-year training experience focused on competency-based medical education.
  • The program emphasizes collaboration, innovation, and excellence, providing residents with diverse clinical experiences across multiple hospital sites in Calgary.
Research
Excellent research opportunities in the Department and Faculty of Medicine, with financial support for conference attendance and scholarly activities.
Training setting
Training occurs across four major urban hospitals in Calgary: Foothills Medical Centre, Peter Lougheed Centre, Rockyview General Hospital, and South Health Campus, providing diverse clinical experiences in primary, secondary, and tertiary care settings.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education using Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) and milestones, focusing on progressive learning, frequent formative assessments, and empowering learners to engage in their educational process.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Personal letter
  • CV/Résumé
  • Medical school transcript
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Letters of reference
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Maria Bacchus

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

From residents

Public podcast episodes and videos where residents describe this program. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Internal Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Calgary

  • Edmonton - Internal MedicineUniversity of Alberta

    Edmonton · 281 km

    41 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Interior - Internal MedicineUniversity of British Columbia

    Interior, BC · 441 km

    3 positions · CMG

  • Saskatoon - Internal MedicineUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon, SK · 525 km

    19 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 14 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35437 (CMG stream), 36168 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream