Vancouver - Urology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British Columbia
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 31
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Competitive RoS stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
Not stated on the CMG stream’s CaRMS page
Not stated on the Competitive RoS stream’s CaRMS page
Vancouver, 16 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
What stands out about this program
First-year residents receive funding for surgical loupes; the department pays for textbooks, journals and society memberships.
From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page
Residents write the annual American Urological Association In-Service Examination as part of their evaluation.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- UBC Urology is a five-year program training residents in all aspects of urology across five main academic hospitals in Vancouver.
- Pediatric urology rotations are mandatory, there is no mandatory rural rotation, and PGY-4 elective time can be rural, urban community, or academic.
- All residents carry out research projects, though no formal rotations are assigned to laboratory research.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
By year
- PGY-4
- elective time
Other rotations
- pediatric urological rotations
Where you train
Vancouver, British Columbia: 16 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- Vancouver Hospital & Health Sciences Centre (VGH Site)
- Vancouver Hospital & Health Sciences Centre (UBC Site)
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Mount St. Joseph's Hospital
- B.C. Children's Hospital/B.C. Women's Hospital
- B.C. Cancer Agency
- Richmond (Richmond)
- Lions Gate
- Royal Columbian
- Surrey (Surrey)
- Langley (Langley)
- Peace Arch
Show all 16 sitesShow fewer
- Chilliwack (Chilliwack)
- Eagle Ridge
- Ridge-Meadows
- Abbotsford (Abbotsford)
Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 2 of 16, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 7; no published record for 7.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2022
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2019
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH: Fraser Health electronic health record (Advance), fully electronic record since Sep 2024
Vancouver Hospital & Health Sciences Centre (VGH Site)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
Vancouver Hospital & Health Sciences Centre (UBC Site)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,983
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,043
St. Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Show facts for 8 more sitesShow fewer
Mount St. Joseph's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,711
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,233
B.C. Children's Hospital/B.C. Women's Hospital
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Feb 2022
BC Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
BC Women's Hospital and Health Centre (Vancouver)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 5,033
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,348
Richmond
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Jun 2024
Lions Gate
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Apr 2018
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,660
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,762
Royal Columbian
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Peace Arch
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,039
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,036
Eagle Ridge
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,014
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,496
Ridge-Meadows
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 9,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,244
Fraser Health's new electronic health record is live at 4 sites (Royal Columbian Hospital, Eagle Ridge Hospital, Fraser Canyon Hospital, Mission Memorial Hospital). Its other sites are still on its current clinical information system.
About Vancouver
People
662,248residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.7%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
5.3 °CJanuary mean19.0 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, Competitive RoS stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, Competitive RoS stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- “Please note that all matched IMG residents are required to attend a mandatory seven-day orientation in June 2026.”
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format, CMG stream
- In person
- Panel
- Format, Competitive RoS stream
- Panel
Info sessions
The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Relieved within 2 hours of the call ending, or by 10:00 if earlier, when a resident on a 24-hour or longer shift could not get 6 uninterrupted hours of rest
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | Nothing noted | |
| Competitive RoS stream | 1 | 5 years |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
| Competitive RoS stream | 1 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The UBC Department of Urologic Sciences provides comprehensive 5-year training in all aspects of urology, including uro-oncology, renal transplantation, endo-urology, pediatric urology, reconstructive urology, urodynamics, and andrology.
- The program offers a high volume of clinical material with especially strong training in urologic oncology and transplantation, and has maintained an excellent pass rate on Royal College examinations.
- Research
- Residents conduct ongoing research projects under staff urologist preceptorship, with active research in multiple subspecialty areas.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple urban hospitals in Vancouver, including academic medical centers, community hospitals, and specialized pediatric and cancer care facilities.
- Teaching approach
- Follows Royal College Competence by Design (CBD) format, emphasizing progressive skill development, frequent formative assessments, and targeted learning outcomes.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Letters of reference
- Personal letter
- CV/Resume
- Academic record
- Research/Publications
- American Urological Association In-Service Examination
- Mock oral examinations
- OSCE examinations
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Thomas De Los Reyes
Dr. Alex KavanaghAssociate Program Director, Urology
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Urology elsewhere
Nearest to Vancouver
Did this page answer your question?