Provincial - Neurology
University of British ColumbiaProvincial, British ColumbiaCompetitive RoS streamNew for 2027
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
Competitive RoS stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 3 Feb 2027
Provincial, 6 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Approximately three months per year in Kelowna for PGY-1 to PGY-4, with PGY-5 based in Kelowna.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Accommodation and travel are covered for required rotations away from the resident's base.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 5-year UBC adult neurology residency in which residents are based in Vancouver for PGY-1 to PGY-4.
- Residents spend about three months per year in Kelowna during PGY-1 to PGY-4, and PGY-5 is based in Kelowna.
- The stream carries a B.C. return-of-service obligation to be served outside the City of Vancouver.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- inpatient neurology (Transition to Discipline · one block)
- CTU (Transition to Discipline · one block)
- CTU (Foundations)
- internal medicine subspecialties (Foundations)
- emergency medicine (Foundations)
- psychiatry (Foundations)
- ICU (Foundations)
- neurosurgery (Foundations)
- inpatient neurology (Core)
- ambulatory clinics (Core)
- neuromuscular/EMG (Core)
- epilepsy/EEG (Core)
- pediatric neurology (Core)
- Transition to Practice (Transition to Practice · Kelowna)
- inpatient neurology CTU (Junior resident · six blocks)
- inpatient consultation (Junior resident · two blocks)
- community neurology (Junior resident · a block)
- ambulatory rotation (3-month · UBC Point Grey campus)
Where you train
Provincial, British Columbia: 6 teaching sites.
Also trains in: Kelowna General Hospital
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
- UBC Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Cancer Agency
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 1 of 6, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 4; no published record for 1.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2022
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
St. Paul’s Hospital
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2019
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Kelowna General Hospital
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
UBC Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,983
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,043
BC Children's Hospital
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Feb 2022
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 3 Feb 2027
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.
2 Neurology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Relieved within 2 hours of the call ending, or by 10:00 if earlier, when a resident on a 24-hour or longer shift could not get 6 uninterrupted hours of rest
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Samuel Yip
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Administration
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Neurology elsewhere
Nearest to Provincial
Did this page answer your question?