Vancouver Island - Internal Medicine
University of British ColumbiaVancouver Island, British Columbia
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 51
- Length
- 4
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Competitive RoS stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
Not stated on CaRMS page
Vancouver Island, CMG stream: 11 teaching sites · Competitive RoS stream: 8 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Mandatory three-year longitudinal outpatient Internal Medicine clinic where each resident follows their own patients monthly.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Small distributed cohort of 21 core residents based in Victoria rather than Vancouver.
From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page
- This is the Vancouver Island distributed site of UBC's Internal Medicine program, with training mainly at Victoria General Hospital and Royal Jubilee Hospital.
- PGY-1 includes mandatory blocks in Vancouver, and PGY-2 includes a 4-week community rotation in a smaller Vancouver Island centre.
- All residents attend a mandatory longitudinal outpatient clinic, and up to three months of research time is allowed.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
By year
- PGY-1
- Sub-specialty electives20 weeks
- CTU18 weeks total
- CCU8 weeks
- ICU4 weeks
- Boot Camp2 weeks
- Fundamental Critical Care Skills Course (FCCS)
- Procedures Training
- PGY-2
- Sub-Specialty electives24 weeks
- CTU16 weeks total
- CCU8 weeks
- Community4 weeks
- PGY-3
- Sub-Specialty Electives28 weeks
- CTU12 weeks total
- ICU8 weeks
- Ambulatory Medicine4 weeks
Where you train
Vancouver Island, British Columbia: CMG stream: 11 teaching sites · Competitive RoS stream: 8 teaching sites.
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria)
- Victoria General Hospital (Victoria)
- BC Cancer Agency (Victoria)
- The longitudinal Medicine Clinic at RJH (UMAC Clinic in the Royal Block) (Victoria)
- Community sites in Duncan (Duncan · rural or distributed site)
- Nanaimo (Nanaimo · rural or distributed site)
- Campbell River (Campbell River · rural or distributed site)
- Comox (Comox · rural or distributed site)
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria)
- Victoria General Hospital (Victoria)
- BC Cancer Agency (Victoria)
- The longitudinal Medicine Clinic at RJH (UMAC Clinic in the Royal Block) (Victoria)
- Community sites in Duncan, Nanaimo, Campbell River and Comox (rural or distributed site)
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: MEDITECH at 1 of 12, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 5; no published record for 6.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- IHealth (Cerner electronic health record), fully electronic record since 2021
Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Victoria General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
Nanaimo
- Clinical record
- IHealth (Cerner electronic health record), fully electronic record since 2016
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
Vancouver General Hospital
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2022
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
St. Paul's Hospital
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2019
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH: Fraser Health electronic health record (Advance), fully electronic record since Sep 2024
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Fraser Health's new electronic health record is live at 4 sites (Royal Columbian Hospital, Eagle Ridge Hospital, Fraser Canyon Hospital, Mission Memorial Hospital). Its other sites are still on its current clinical information system.
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, Competitive RoS stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, Competitive RoS stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.
16 Internal Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Relieved within 2 hours of the call ending, or by 10:00 if earlier, when a resident on a 24-hour or longer shift could not get 6 uninterrupted hours of rest
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 1 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 4 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 5 | 4 years | Nothing noted | |
| Competitive RoS stream | 1 | 4 years |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 5 | 5 years | 1 date, 9 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of British Columbia's Internal Medicine Residency Program on Vancouver Island offers a comprehensive three-year training experience that provides equivalent but unique medical education compared to the main Vancouver program.
- Residents will train primarily on Vancouver Island with mandatory rotations in Victoria and Vancouver, emphasizing personalized learning, academic development, and diverse clinical experiences.
- Research
- Three months of research time during core training, with mentorship, annual research events, and funding for conference presentations.
- Training setting
- Training occurs primarily at Royal Jubilee Hospital and Victoria General Hospital in Victoria, with additional rotations in community sites like Duncan, Nanaimo, Campbell River, and Comox, and mandatory blocks in Vancouver hospitals.
- Teaching approach
- The program emphasizes education over service, uses a competency-based approach with graded responsibility, and provides a flexible curriculum that allows personalized learning experiences with excellent faculty access.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- CV/Resume
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Tristen Gilchrist
Dr. Kari-Jean McKenzieAssociate Program Director - Vancouver Island
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
- Program office
Internal Medicine Program Coordinator
Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)
“For questions not covered on CaRMS site, email:” · the program’s note on CaRMS
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- New CTU Program (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Clerk describes CTU teaching and workload across teaching sitesTopics: service · teaching
- UBC vancouver island internal medicine? (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Rotator describes Vancouver Island IM culture, case mix and teachingTopics: teaching
- Canadian IM Programs – Pros and Cons Thread (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Partner of IM resident compares McGill and UBC IM sites, call, FrenchTopics: call · service · teaching
- Canadian IM Programs – Pros and Cons Thread (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Friends' accounts of UBC IM elective flexibility, service load and callTopics: call · service
Internal Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Vancouver Island
Did this page answer your question?