Skip to content
CdnMD

Rural Immersion - Prince Rupert - Family Medicine

University of British ColumbiaRural Immersion, British ColumbiaCMG streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

8 dates, 16–26 Jan 2027virtual

Rural Immersion, 1 teaching site · based in a rural community

After residency in British Columbia: hours-based model open to new graduates

What stands out about this program

  • No planned rotations; curriculum is delivered through a checklist-based, integrated longitudinal model in one rural community.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Applicants must contact the co-site director directly to be considered for Rural Immersion sites.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year UBC family medicine site bases residents in Prince Rupert for the full residency.
  • There are no planned rotations; the curriculum uses a checklist and integrated longitudinal approach in rural family practice roles.
  • Academic time is shared with the Prince George programs, and residents complete a quality improvement project and a scholar project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Longitudinal / integrated
  • Early independence
  • Northern
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Anesthesia
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Other
Getting around
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Rural Immersion, British Columbia: 1 teaching site; based in a rural community.

  • Prince Rupert (Prince Rupert)

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 1 of 1.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
16, 18, 19, 21, 22, 23, 25 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 2 Sep 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Salaries from April 2027. One provincial scale for British Columbia, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, British Columbia
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$71,390 / year
PGY-2
$79,571 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
Relieved within 2 hours of the call ending, or by 10:00 if earlier, when a resident on a 24-hour or longer shift could not get 6 uninterrupted hours of rest

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDBC agreement, 1 Apr 2025 to 31 Mar 2029. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
Yes. Mandatory
Dental plan
100% Premiums Paid
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
100% Premiums Paid
Life insurance
100% Premium Paid
Long-term disability insurance
Yes 100% Premiums Paid
Maternity leave
17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
Meal allowance
No
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.5%
Provincial health insurance
100% Premiums Paid
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory holidays
2 x pay plus extra day with pay

After residency

Family doctors in British Columbia can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for hours worked, visits and enrolled patients: the Longitudinal Family Physician (LFP) Payment Model. The New-to-Practice (NTP) contract is primarily focused on new graduates, for up to two years; the LFP Payment Model is also available to new physicians building a panel. To join: at least 250 empanelled patients within four months of enrolling. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Sarah McCorquodale

  • Dr. Flora Wong

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Program and Learning Development Manager, Education Coordinator

Write to the officeresidency@familymed.ubc.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Videos and podcasts

From residents

Public podcast episodes and videos where residents describe this program. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Rural Immersion - Prince Rupert

  • Rural Northwest - Family MedicineUniversity of British Columbia

    Rural Northwest · 114 km

    3 positions · CMG

    Regional
  • Rural Immersion - Hazelton - Family MedicineUniversity of British Columbia

    Rural Immersion - Hazelton · 200 km

    1 position · CMG

    Rural
  • Rural Immersion - Burns Lake · 296 km

    1 position · CMG

    Rural

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 15 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 37143 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?