Edmonton - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 3
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Open house
details info sessions of this programThu 5 Nov 2026,6:00–7:00 pm MSTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027
Edmonton, 5 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Access to the CAREN system, ICAN Centre for Assistive Technology and the Syncrude Centre for Motion and Balance.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Based at Canada's largest free-standing comprehensive tertiary rehabilitation hospital.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
Longitudinal senior resident clinic in PGY-5, where residents follow their own assigned patients.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 5-year Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation residency at the University of Alberta, based at the Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital in Edmonton.
- Off-service rotations take place at other Edmonton teaching hospitals, and community clinics provide musculoskeletal, EMG and interventional experience.
- Residents complete at least one scholarly project, with a minimum of one research block per year from PGY2 to PGY4.
- From the second year, call is week-long home call at the Glenrose.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
By year
- PGY-1
- introductory PM&R rotations2 blocks
- CCU
- CTU
- Neurosurgery
- Plastic Surgery
- Geriatrics
- Emergency Medicine
- Pediatrics
- Psychiatry
- PGY-2
- Orthopedic Surgery
- Neurology
- Rheumatology
- PGY-5
- longitudinal senior resident clinicminimum once per month clinic
Other rotations
- Brain Injury Rehabilitation (Junior and Senior rotations) (Core of Discipline (PGY 2-4))
- Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation (Junior and Senior rotations) (Core of Discipline (PGY 2-4))
- Stroke Rehabilitation (Junior and Senior rotations) (Core of Discipline (PGY 2-4))
- MSK Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (PGY 2-4) · exposure split across 2-3 years)
- Amputation Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (PGY 2-4))
- Neuromuscular Rehabilitation and Electrodiagnostics (EMG) (Core of Discipline (PGY 2-4))
- Pediatric Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (PGY 2-4))
- Spasticity (Core of Discipline (PGY 2-4) · longitudinal exposure during neurorehabilitation rotations)
- Research (Core of Discipline (PGY 2-4) · minimum 1 block per year from PGY2-4)
Where you train
Edmonton, Alberta: 5 teaching sites.
- Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital
- University of Alberta Hospital
- Royal Alexandra Hospital
- Misericordia Hospital
- Gray Nuns Community Hospital
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 5; no published record for 1.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
About Edmonton
People
1,010,899residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.8%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not required · all residents
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 21 and 22 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 2026
6:00–7:00 pm MST
Open house · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- In-house and home call · frequency “6 week-long home calls per year”
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 2 dates, 29–30 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Alberta's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (PM&R) program offers comprehensive training with a strong academic focus and resident-directed learning.
- Residents are exposed to a diverse patient population and state-of-the-art rehabilitation technology across all PM&R subspecialties.
- The program emphasizes research, academic development, and preparing residents for successful independent clinical practice.
- Research
- Residents complete at least one scholarly project with protected research time, mentorship from research faculty, and opportunities to present at provincial and national conferences.
- Training setting
- Based at the Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital in Edmonton, a comprehensive tertiary rehabilitation hospital serving northern Alberta, British Columbia, and Northwest Territories. Training occurs across multiple hospital sites including University of Alberta Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, and community clinics.
- Teaching approach
- Resident-directed learning with a competency-based approach, emphasizing progressive independence, interdisciplinary teamwork, and comprehensive exposure to all PM&R subspecialties.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference letters
- Elective experiences
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Jaime Yu
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation elsewhere
Nearest to Edmonton
Did this page answer your question?