Skip to content
CdnMD

Sault Ste. Marie - Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia

NOSM UniversitySault Ste. Marie, OntarioCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

1 date, 10 Nov 2026virtual

Sault Ste. Marie, 14 teaching sites · 4 rural weeks

What stands out about this program

  • Hosts a 5-day simulation-based Anesthesia Boot Camp attended by trainees from across Canada.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Six consecutive weeks of pediatric anesthesia at CHEO in Ottawa.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Optional participation in a Virtual Critical Care program supporting over 28 Northern Ontario hospitals.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • This one-year family practice anesthesia program prepares family physicians to provide anesthesia services in rural communities.
  • Two residents are based at Sault Area Hospital in Sault Ste. Marie.
  • Rotations away from the base include adult critical care in Sudbury, six weeks of pediatric anesthesia at CHEO in Ottawa, community anesthesia, and rural comprehensive family medicine.
  • Travel and housing support are provided for rotations away from the primary site.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Rural / remote
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Core Anesthesia (34 weeks · Sudbury, Sault Ste. Marie)
  • Consolidative Family Practice (4 weeks · Huntsville, Bracebridge, Kenora, Dryden)
  • Community Anesthesia (4 weeks · North Bay, Timmins, Sioux Lookout, Parry Sound)
  • ICU (4 weeks · Sudbury)
  • Pediatrics (6 weeks · Ottawa (CHEO))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario: 14 teaching sites; 4 rural weeks.

  • Sault Area Hospital (SAH)
  • Health Sciences North (HSN) (Sudbury)
  • Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa)
  • Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC) (Thunder Bay)
  • North Bay Regional Health Centre (NBRHC) (North Bay · rural or distributed site)
  • Dryden District Health Centre (Dryden · rural or distributed site)
  • Lake of the Woods District Hospital (Kenora · rural or distributed site)
  • Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre (Sioux Lookout · rural or distributed site)
  • Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare (rural or distributed site)
  • Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc. (Fort Frances · rural or distributed site)
  • St. Joseph’s Care Group (rural or distributed site)
  • Temiskaming Hospital (rural or distributed site)
Show all 14 sites
  • Timmins and District Hospital (Timmins · rural or distributed site)
  • Notre Dame Hospital (Hearst · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 14, MEDITECH at 11, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 1.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences North (HSN); Dryden District Health Centre; Lake of the Woods District Hospital; Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre; Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc.; Temiskaming Hospital; Timmins and District Hospital; Notre Dame Hospital.

Hospital facts

13 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), fully electronic record since Oct 2019 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Sault Area Hospital (SAH), North Bay Regional Health Centre (NBRHC).
Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences North (HSN), Temiskaming Hospital, Timmins and District Hospital, Notre Dame Hospital.
Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026. At Dryden District Health Centre, Lake of the Woods District Hospital, Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre, Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc..

Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC)

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare

Clinical record
Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Sault Ste. Marie

  • People

    72,051residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Sault Ste. Marie

  • Housing

    2.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Sault Ste

  • Winter and summer

    −9.8 °CJanuary mean17.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Sault Ste Marie, 14.6 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about Sault Ste. Marie (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
10 Nov 2026
Format
Virtual

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$85,564 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Sarah McIsaac

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia elsewhere

Nearest to Sault Ste. Marie

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 1 Sep 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34601 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?