Sudbury - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
NOSM UniversitySudbury, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 3
- Length
- 1
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
2 dates, 22–23 Oct 2026
Sudbury, 7 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Structured POCUS training aimed at CPOCUS Core IP and Resuscitation certification, starting with a boot camp.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Housing support for away core rotations for up to 6 months per year.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Residents take part in Trauma Team call during emergency rotations, alongside a dedicated trauma block.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This one-year family medicine emergency medicine program has a Sudbury stream, with residents based in the community they match to.
- The curriculum includes point-of-care ultrasound training, and residents are expected to complete a scholarly project.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Northern
- Procedural emphasis
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Tertiary Care Emergency (20 weeks · Sudbury, Thunder Bay)
- Community Emergency / Rural Emergency (4 weeks · Huntsville, North Bay, Sault Ste. Marie, Timmins, Kenora, Sioux Lookout, Espanola, Sturgeon Falls)
- Anesthesia (4 weeks · Sudbury, Thunder Bay, Sault Ste. Marie)
- Intensive Care (8 weeks · Sudbury, Thunder Bay, Sault Ste. Marie)
- Ortho/Plastics (4 weeks · Thunder Bay, Sudbury)
- Pediatric Emergency (4 weeks · Ottawa (CHEO), Toronto (SickKids), London (LHSC))
- Trauma (4 weeks · Toronto (Sunnybrook or St. Michael’s ))
- Elective (4 weeks)
Where you train
Sudbury, Ontario: 7 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- Health Sciences North
- Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (Thunder Bay)
- CHEO (Ottawa)
- SickKids (Toronto)
- LHSC (London)
- Sunnybrook (Toronto)
- St. Michael’s (Toronto)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 7, MEDITECH at 2, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 3.
Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook (scheduled 2027). Health Sciences North.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Health Sciences North
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), moving to a new system
Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
CHEO
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Sunnybrook
- Clinical record
- Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027
ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page.
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Greater Sudbury
People
166,004residents, 2021 Census
Housing
1.1%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−12.7 °CJanuary mean19.1 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
not published for this specialty
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 22 and 23 Oct 2026
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Melanie Squarzolo
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Sudbury
Did this page answer your question?