Skip to content
CdnMD

Central Rural Stream - Psychiatry

Memorial University of NewfoundlandCentral Rural Stream, Newfoundland and LabradorCMG stream

From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See this school’s 2027 programs

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

2 dates, 19–30 Jan 2026

Central Rural Stream, 6 teaching sites

Summary

  • Memorial University's Psychiatry Central Rural Stream offers a comprehensive 5-year residency program focused on training excellent general psychiatrists in a rural setting.
  • The program provides a broad clinical and academic curriculum with a strong emphasis on rural medicine, collaborative care, and individual career development.

What training looks like

Research
Residents are required to complete one scholarly project, with options for a 3-6 month dedicated research elective and support for conference/publication presentation.
Training setting
Training occurs in Grand Falls-Windsor, a rural community in Central Newfoundland, with additional rotations in St. John's at multiple hospital sites, providing a comprehensive urban and rural psychiatric training experience.
Teaching approach
Competence by Design framework with progressive independence, emphasizing social accountability, professional development, and wellness through a comprehensive, developmentally-structured curriculum.
Enhanced skills
  • Psychotherapy training
  • Rural medicine
  • Research skills
  • Medical education

By year

PGY-1
  • Inpatient/Outpatient/ER PsychiatryGrand Falls-Windsor3 blocks
  • Transition to DisciplinePsychiatry acute care setting8 weeks
  • Addiction PsychiatryGrand Falls-Windsor2 blocks
  • Internal Medicine/NeurologyVarious2 blocks
  • Emergency MedicineVarious1 block
  • PediatricsVarious1 block
  • Geriatric Medicine/EndocrinologyVarious1 block
  • SelectiveVarious1 block
PGY-2
  • Longitudinal Inpatient/Outpatient PsychiatryGrand Falls-WindsorFull year
PGY-3
  • Core PsychiatryGrand Falls-Windsor and St. John'sVaries
PGY-4
  • Core PsychiatryGrand Falls-Windsor and St. John'sVaries
PGY-5
  • Transition to PracticeGrand Falls-Windsor12 months

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Central Rural Stream, Newfoundland and Labrador: 6 teaching sites.

  • Central Newfoundland Hospital, Grand Falls-Windsor
  • Health Sciences Centre, St. John's
  • Janeway Children's Health and Rehabilitation Centre, St. John's
  • St. Clare's Mercy Hospital, St. John's
  • The Waterford Hospital, St. John's
  • The L. A. Miller Centre, St. John's

Record systems at the listed sites: CorCare at 1 of 6; no published record for 5.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Central Newfoundland Hospital, Grand Falls-Windsor

Clinical record
CorCare, fully electronic record since Apr 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Newfoundland and Labrador doesn't publish this as open data.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

What the program looks at
  • Academic record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance
  • Electives
  • Research/Publications
  • Leadership skills
  • Interpersonal skills

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2026 match)
19 and 30 Jan 2026
Format
Not stated on CaRMS page

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Newfoundland and Labrador, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Newfoundland and Labrador
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$69,175 / year
PGY-2
$74,779 / year
PGY-3
$79,848 / year
PGY-4
$85,137 / year
PGY-5
$90,868 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 day in 4 in-house, on average
Post-call rule (provincial)
May be relieved at 10:00 on the next regular work day, after handover, when call involved continuous or intensive care
Max continuous duty (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARNL agreement, 10 Aug 2022 to 30 Jun 2024. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

12 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Additional optional benefits, Annual vacation, CMPA dues, and more
Additional optional benefits
100% employee paid
Annual vacation
4 weeks/year
CMPA dues
100% reimbursement
Conference leave
7 days/pd
Extended health insurance
Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
Maternity/Paternity leave
Up to One year
Meal allowance
$105 per month
Parking fees
$5/year
Provincial health insurance
Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
Resident Student
Full-time status
Sick leave
1 day per month
Statutory holidays
1-1/2 x pay or paid day off

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Contacts and links

Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.

See this school’s 2027 programs, or the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).

Psychiatry elsewhere

Nearest to Central Rural Stream

  • St. John's - PsychiatryMemorial University of Newfoundland

    St. John's · 243 km

    6 positions · CMG

  • Halifax - PsychiatryDalhousie University

    Halifax, NS · 800 km

    9 positions · CMG

  • Montreal - PsychiatryMcGill University

    Montreal, QC · 1,437 km

    9 positions · Regular

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2026 match · last approved 5 Sep 2025.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 29223 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 5 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?