Skip to content
CdnMD

St. John's - Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly

Memorial University of NewfoundlandSt. John's, Newfoundland and LabradorCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
1 year
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

Interviews

1 date, 16 Oct 2026virtual

St. John's, 4 teaching sites · 4 rural weeks

Also at Memorial, applied for at the school: Care of the Elderly - six-month option for physicians returning from practice, on Memorial’s page of programs applied for at the school · 6 months (returning-from-practice option); 12 months via CaRMS · practising physicians · no dates published (as of 10 Oct 2026)

Not through CaRMS: you apply to Memorial, on its own dates. Confirm on the school’s page before you apply.

What stands out about this program

  • Required 4-week long-term care rotation at a rural health centre in Botwood, NL.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents give a community outreach presentation through the Alzheimer’s Society First Link Program.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This 1-year Care of the Elderly enhanced skills program leads to a Certificate of Added Competence in COE.
  • Training includes 24 weeks of geriatric medicine in St. John's and/or Corner Brook plus a long-term care rotation in Botwood.
  • Residents must complete a self-directed scholarly activity, with research time scheduled as 2 weeks or longitudinal half days.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Geriatric Medicine Inpatient/Outpatient (24 weeks · St. John's and/or Corner Brook, NL)
  • Long Term Care (4 weeks · Dr. Hugh Twomey Health Centre, Botwood, NL)
  • Geriatric Rehabilitation (4 weeks · L.A. Miller Centre, St. John's or Restorative Care, Corner Brook, NL)
  • Community Geriatrics (4 weeks · Corner Brook, NL or Grand Falls, NL or Saint John, NB)
  • Home Dementia Care (4 weeks · St. John's or Corner Brook, NL)
  • Inpatient Geriatric Psychiatry (4 weeks · Mental Health and Addictions Centre, St. John’s, NL)
  • Research (2 weeks or Longitudinal (Total 9 half days during Geriatric Medicine Blocks))
  • Selective (2 weeks)
  • Neurology/Palliative Care
  • Elective (4 weeks)
  • Neurology Clinic (Longitudinal Schedule · 8 -10 clinics)
  • Wound Care Clinic (Longitudinal Schedule · 1-2 clinics)
  • Primary Care Geriatrics Home Visits (Longitudinal Schedule · 0.5 day per week (4-8 weeks))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador: 4 teaching sites; 4 rural weeks.

  • Dr. Hugh Twomey Health Centre (Botwood · rural or distributed site)
  • L.A. Miller Centre
  • Restorative Care (Corner Brook · rural or distributed site)
  • Mental Health and Addictions Centre

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 4 of 4.

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Newfoundland and Labrador doesn't publish this as open data.

About St. John's

  • People

    110,525residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of St. John's

  • Housing

    2.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, St

  • Winter and summer

    −3.6 °CJanuary mean16.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, St. John's (West), 4.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    not published for this specialty

More about St. John's (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
16 Oct 2026
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Interview dates and format are as the program wrote them.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Newfoundland and Labrador, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Annual salary by PGY level, Newfoundland and Labrador
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$79,848 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 day in 4 in-house, on average
Post-call rule (provincial)
May be relieved at 10:00 on the next regular work day, after handover, when call involved continuous or intensive care
Max continuous duty (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARNL agreement, 10 Aug 2022 to 30 Jun 2024. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

12 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Additional optional benefits, Annual vacation, CMPA dues, and more
Additional optional benefits
100% employee paid
Annual vacation
4 weeks/year
CMPA dues
100% reimbursement
Conference leave
7 days/pd
Extended health insurance
Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
Maternity/Paternity leave
Up to One year
Meal allowance
$105 per month
Parking fees
$5/year
Provincial health insurance
Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
Resident Student
Full-time status
Sick leave
1 day per month
Statutory holidays
1-1/2 x pay or paid day off

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Academic Program Assistant

Write to the officegeriatrics@mun.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly elsewhere

Nearest to St. John's

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · FM/ES 2027 match · last approved 9 Jul 2026.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 34575 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 8 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?