Hamilton - Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- Length
- 1
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 0–25%
Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 16 Nov 2026
Hamilton, 10 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Ultrasound boot camp culminating in CPOCUS certification, followed by a dedicated scanning block.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Clinical skills sessions include cadaver-based anatomy labs, airway management and central line workshops.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- This one-year program trains family medicine graduates in emergency medicine and prepares them for the CFPC Examination of Added Competence in Emergency Medicine.
- Residents are based in Hamilton, Kitchener-Waterloo or Niagara, and all train partly in Hamilton.
- The year includes four emergency medicine blocks, a POCUS block leading to CPOCUS certification, and a required research project.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (4 blocks)
- Emergency Paediatrics (1 block · McMaster Children's Hospital)
- Point of Care Ultrasound (1 block)
- Trauma/Acute Care Surgery (1 block)
- ICU (2 blocks)
- CCU (1 block)
- Emergency Medicine Community Selective (1 block)
- Anesthesia (1 block)
- Plastics/Orthopaedics (1 block)
Where you train
Hamilton, Ontario: 10 teaching sites.
- Hamilton General Hospital
- Juravinski Hospital
- St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton
- McMaster Children’s Hospital
- WRHN at Midtown (Kitchener · rural or distributed site)
- WRHN at Queen's Boulevard (Kitchener · rural or distributed site)
- Guelph General Hospital (Guelph · rural or distributed site)
- St. Catharines Site (St. Catherines · rural or distributed site)
- Greater Niagara General Site (Niagara Falls · rural or distributed site)
- Brantford General Hospital (Brantford · rural or distributed site)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 10, MEDITECH at 2; no published record for 4.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022
St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton
- Clinical record
- Epic (Dovetale), fully electronic record since Dec 2017
Guelph General Hospital
- Clinical record
- Meditech, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Brantford General Hospital
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH (cloud-based EHR), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Hamilton
People
569,353residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.5%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
not published for this specialty
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 16 Nov 2026
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Alexandra Mitcham
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Family Medicine - Emergency Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Hamilton
Did this page answer your question?