Hamilton - Diagnostic Radiology
McMaster UniversityHamilton, Ontario
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 61
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–2000–50
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%0–25%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Interviews
2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2027
1 date, 20 Jan 2027
Hamilton, 4 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Final-year residents function as junior staff during a 4-block Transition to Practice period.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Reports a 10-year 100% Royal College examination pass rate.
From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page
- McMaster's Diagnostic Radiology program is a 5-year residency based at Hamilton Health Sciences and St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton sites.
- Training progresses from off-service rotations to radiology subspecialty rotations, ending with a Junior Staff period in Transition to Practice.
- Residents must complete a research project and a clinical audit, and interviews are virtual.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Internal Medicine (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 2 blocks)
- General Surgery (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 2 blocks)
- Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 2 blocks)
- Pathology (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 1 block)
- Pediatrics (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 1 block)
- Neurology (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 1 block)
- Introductory Radiology / Anatomy (Transition to Discipline - TTD (Blocks 1-11) · 2 blocks)
- Introductory CT (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Introductory Ultrasound (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Introductory Neuroradiology (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- ER / Trauma Radiography (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Pediatric Radiology (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Chest Radiology (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Musculoskeletal Radiology (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Body CT (Foundations (Blocks 12 - 19))
- Pediatric Radiology (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Chest Radiology (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Musculoskeletal Radiology (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Ultrasound (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Breast Imaging (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Nuclear Medicine (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Neuroradiology (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Cardiac Imaging (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Obstetrical Ultrasound (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- GI Fluoroscopy (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Community Rotation (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Electives (Core (Blocks 20 - 59))
- Junior Staff (Transition to Practice (Blocks 60 - 65) · 4 blocks)
- Electives (Transition to Practice (Blocks 60 - 65) · 1 blocks)
Where you train
Hamilton, Ontario: 4 teaching sites.
- Hamilton Health Sciences - McMaster University Medical Centre
- Hamilton Health Sciences - Juravinski Hospital
- Hamilton Health Sciences - Hamilton General Hospital
- St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 4.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022
St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton
- Clinical record
- Epic (Dovetale), fully electronic record since Dec 2017
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Hamilton
People
569,353residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.5%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required · IMGs only
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match), CMG stream
- 20 and 21 Jan 2027
- Interview dates (2027 match), IMG stream
- 20 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
1 Diagnostic Radiology info session at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 6 | 5 years | 2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 20 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 6 | 5 years | 2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2026 |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 21 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- McMaster University's Diagnostic Radiology program is a comprehensive 5-year residency designed to produce strong clinical radiologists with excellent consultative skills.
- The program emphasizes knowledge, technical skills, and communication skills, providing residents with increasing responsibility and preparing them for independent practice.
- Research
- Residents are required to complete one research project and clinical audit, with support for presentation and potential publication, and access to research resources.
- Training setting
- Urban academic medical center with training across four major hospital sites in Hamilton, Ontario, offering diverse clinical exposure and high-volume patient populations.
- Teaching approach
- Utilizes Competency By Design (CBD) framework with progressive independence, emphasizing supervised learning with increasing resident autonomy throughout the training program.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CASPer examination
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- CV
- Elective experiences
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Yoan Kagoma
Dr. Patrick KennedyAssistant Program Director
- Program office
Program Assistant, Senior Education Program Associate
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Diagnostic Radiology elsewhere
Nearest to Hamilton
Did this page answer your question?