Skip to content
CdnMD

Halifax - Emergency Medicine

Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Wed 27 Jan 2027,time not stated

Interviews

1 date, 28 Jan 2027virtual

Halifax, 6 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Clinical Grade Cadaver Program for procedure simulation within the department's own simulation centre.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Annual three-day wilderness medicine retreat covering search and rescue and navigation.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Home of the AIME airway course; residents rotate in adult and pediatric anesthesia and difficult airway.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Dalhousie's five-year Royal College Emergency Medicine program in Halifax takes 4 residents per year.
  • Training is based at the QEII Health Sciences Centre and IWK Health Centre, with required rotations outside Halifax within the Maritime provinces.
  • Core includes up to 8 weeks of protected research time, plus a dedicated ultrasound rotation leading to CEUS-IP certification.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Small program
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline · 3 Blocks)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations · 3 Blocks)
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Foundations · 2 Block)
  • General Surgery (Foundations · 1 Block)
  • Plastic Surgery (Foundations · 1 Block)
  • Orthopedic Surgery (Foundations · 1 Block)
  • Anesthesia (Foundations · 1 Block)
  • Internal Medicine (Foundations · 1 Block)
  • Emergency Medicine (Core · 18 Blocks)
  • Point of Care Ultrasound (Core · 1 Block)
  • Community Emergency Medicine (Core · 1 Block)
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Core · minimum 4 Blocks)
  • Critical Care (ICU) (Core · 3 Blocks)
  • Cardiology (CCU) (Core · 1 Block)
  • Neurology (Core · 1 Block)
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology (Core · 1 Block)
  • Difficult Airway (Core · 1 Block)
  • Pediatric Anesthesia (Core · 1 Block)
  • Teacher/Leader (Core · 1 Block)
  • Pre-Hospital Medicine (Core · 1 Block)
  • Toxicology (Core · 1 Block)
  • Trauma Consult service (Core · 1 Block)
  • Infectious Diseases (Core · 1 Block)
  • Psychiatry (EM Consult) (Core · 1 Block)
  • Pediatric Critical Care (PICU) (Core · 1 Block)
  • Area of Clinical Expertise (ACE) (Transition to Practice)
  • Emergency Medicine (Transition to Practice · at least 6 blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Halifax, Nova Scotia: 6 teaching sites.

  • QEII Health Sciences Centre, Charles V. Keating Emergency & Trauma Centre
  • IWK Health Centre
  • Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John · rural or distributed site)
  • Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth)
  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Charlottetown)
  • Valley Regional Hospital (Kentville)

Record systems at the listed sites: Clinical Information System at 1 of 6, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 4; no published record for 1.

Moving to a new system: Valley Regional Hospital (by Dec 2026).

Hospital facts

6 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
One Person One Record, fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At QEII Health Sciences Centre, Charles V. Keating Emergency & Trauma Centre, Dartmouth General Hospital.

How to read the figures

  • Hospital type. As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

QEII Health Sciences Centre, Charles V. Keating Emergency & Trauma Centre

Matched to QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

IWK Health Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health (One Person One Record), fully electronic record since Dec 2025 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to IWK Health Centre (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

Saint John Regional Hospital

Matched to Saint John Regional Hospital / Hôpital Régional de Saint John (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
445 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.
Show facts for 3 more sites

Dartmouth General Hospital

Matched to Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Regional

Queen Elizabeth Hospital

Clinical record
Clinical Information System (CIS), since 2008, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 17 Oct 2026

Valley Regional Hospital

Clinical record
One Person One Record, moving to a new system, by Dec 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Valley Regional Hospital (Kentville) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Regional

Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date). As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

About Halifax

  • People

    439,819residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Halifax

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Halifax, Nova Scotia (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −4.1 °CJanuary mean18.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Shearwater, 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Halifax (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

  • Wed 27 Jan 2027

    time not stated

    Social · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year
PGY-4
$95,485 / year
PGY-5
$101,926 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream45 years1 date, 28 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream45 years2 dates, 28–29 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Dalhousie's Emergency Medicine residency is a small, supportive 5-year program located in Halifax, Nova Scotia.
  • The program offers a close-knit training environment with only 4 residents per year, emphasizing personalized mentorship, academic excellence, and comprehensive emergency medicine skills across diverse clinical settings.
Research
Dedicated research time, faculty mentorship, and support from the Department of Emergency Medicine Research Council with focus areas including Emergency Medical Services, airway management, medical education, and point of care ultrasound.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Halifax, Nova Scotia, with additional training sites in maritime provinces including Saint John, New Brunswick and community hospitals across the region.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing mentorship, hands-on clinical experience, and comprehensive skill development across multiple clinical domains.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic performance
  • Elective experiences
  • Research portfolio
  • Leadership skills
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

RC EM Education Coordinator

Write to the officeRCPSEMProgram@nshealth.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Emergency Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Halifax

  • Montreal, QC · 790 km

    3 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Ottawa - Emergency MedicineUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 955 km

    11 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Kingston - Emergency MedicineQueen’s University

    Kingston, ON · 1,025 km

    4 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 11 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35600 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?